Trans-Mississippi Four-Ball: First Round Results

PEBBLE BEACH, Calif. (Sept. 18, 2007)—A pair of former individual champions of the Trans-Mississippi Championship have paired together to grab an early share of the lead at the 27th annual Trans-Miss Four-Ball Championship.

Robert Funk, who won the individual title in 2006, and David Bartman, who won the previous year, fired a 6-under-par 66 at the Monterey Peninsula Country Club’s Dunes Course and sit atop the leaderboard with Joe Sanders and Ryan Mitchell.

Funk and Bartman are quite familiar with playing together, recently winning the 2007 Southern California Foursomes Championship.

Sanders and Mitchell are both from Incline Village, Nevada.

Lurking in second place at 5-under is the duo of John Pigg and Eddie Lyons which has won this event four times (1983, ’84, ’89, 2004).

The pair first met as business partners in 1980, and joined forces regularly since.

"We ham and egg pretty good, pick each other up with a birdie or a par, we made one bogey the whole day," said Pigg. "After a round of golf you always feel that you left something out there, and we feel like we left about four shots out there.

"But the golf course is in great shape, and those greens, they can make them as tough as they want to make them."

Reigning champions Chris Kessler and Trent Brown (who is also the current Trans-Miss individual champ) are still very much in the hunt at 3-under 69.

In the senior division, Roger Brown (Trent’s father) a member of the Trans-Miss Board of Directors, ripped off seven birdies to lead him and teammate Bill Heldmar to a 7-under-par 65, good for a four-stroke lead. Heldmar did save his teammate from making bogey on a few occasions, but noted after the incredible round that he was largely along for the ride.

Be sure to check back with amateurgolf.com tomorrow for second round scores, and Friday morning for a video wrap-up of the tourney.

Full scores follow:

  Team Rd.1
T1 Funk, Robert / Bartman, David 66
T1 Mitchell, Ryan / Sanders, Joe 66
3 Pigg, John / Lyons, Eddie 67
T4 Burns, Ron / Anderson, Jay 68
T4 Moore, William / Boyns, Casey 68
T4 Cox, Kelly / Kohn, Tim 68
T4 John, Steve / Ledzinski, Jerry 68
T8 Healer, Mark / Englander, Woody 69
T8 Hemphill, Gregg / Hallgrimson, Erik 69
T8 Albers, Bill / Griggs, Chris 69
T8 Horsch Jr, Carl / Ryan, Jim 69
T8 Kessler, Chris / Brown, Trent 69
T13 McDonald, John / Nolan, Rick 70
T13 Nelson, Hunter / Moore, David 70
T13 Summers, Stephen / Summers, Steve 70
T16 Bodenheimer, Steve / Myers, Kriss 71
T16 Gardner, Mark / Rice, Paul 71
T16 Kobalter, Kevin / Young, Gary 71
T19 Pescatore, Tony / Pospisil, E J 72
T19 Barker, Shawn / Curd Jr, James 72
T19 Luther, Dan / Mooty, David 72
T19 Sullivan, Hollis / Dillard, Jeff 72
T19 McCray, Chandler / Benson, Charles 72
T19 Ruffin, Rick / Anderson III, Carl 72
T19 House, R Mark / DeSantis, John 72
T19 Colwell, Kip / Hoffman, John 72
T27 Ream, Jim / Shlemmer, Rick 73
T27 McDonald, Robert / Brewer, Bob 73
T27 Trent, Kevin / Simmons, Doug 73
T27 Karper, Phil / McGee, Mac 73
T27 Podolak, Michael / Newman, Russ 73
T32 Bohls, Rex / Thompson, Powell 74
T32 Garcia, Ernie / Tryhus, Gregg 74
T34 Russell, SI / Putney, Jeff 75
T34 Hall, Murray / Lucas, Scott 75
T34 Seeman, Jason / Rismiller, David 75
T34 Dudley, Matt / Hill, Ryan 75
T34 Creekmore III, Steve / Shumate, Bryon 75
T39 Goode, John / Coon, Richard 77
T39 Epstein, Jeffrey / Frankel, Harris 77
41 Baumann, Bruce / Barlow, Stephen 80

****** Senior Flight *******

  Team Rd.1
1 Heldmar, Bill / Brown, Roger 65
T2 Maletis, Chris / Greenbaum, Jerry 69
T2 Remington, Jeff / Richards, Bruce 69
T4 Dobbs, Bill / Walker, John 70
T4 Patterson, Cary / Craven, Mike 70
T6 Hatchett, Steve / Sica, Nick 71
T6 Sharpe, Allen / Mahoney, Michael 71
T6 Hutton, Jerry / Carroll, J David 71
9 Nelson, Clint / Coates, Tom 72
T10 Thompson, Steve / Bettis, Harry 73
T10 Fouke, Bob / Baker, Jerry 73
T10 Hullender, Bob / Lefferdink, Van 73
T10 Devlin, Tom / Toalson, Bill 73
T10 Ellis, Jerry / Patterson, Phil 73
T15 Lynch, Dorsey / Randol, Robert 74
T15 Klumok, Maury / Hikes, Charles 74
T15 Wilkinson, Hank / Thalhuber, Gary 74
T15 McCarty, Russell / Wheeler, James 74
T15 Hotchkiss, Jim / Quinlivan, Jack 74
T15 White, Phil / Seaman, Gary 74
T15 Post, Charlie / Mohr, Wes 74
T22 Clevenger, Jack / Curran, Terry 75
T22 Gray, Downing / Sisco, A B 75
24 Howe, Bob / Hardin, Gary 76
25 Bowsher, Steve / Griffin, Edward 77
T26 McClintock, Rich / Smazal, Stan 78
T26 Vickers, Jim / Frost, Jim 78


ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Four-Ball

One of three annual championships hosted each year by the historic Trans-Mississippi Golf Association. Each player must be a member of a Trans-Mississippi member club, but not necessarily the same club. Players who do not belong to a Trans-Miss member club can speak to their club's manager or board of directors to encourage them to join (dues are very reasonable and support the Trans-Miss Turf Scholarship Fund). Alternatively, entrants may make a contribution in lieu of club membership to the Turf Scholarship Fund.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube