CIF State H.S. Championship: An Edison Sweep

PEBBLE BEACH - The Edison High School Golf Team found itself in an unusual position at the end of the State CIF High School Championship.

The Huntington Beach school captured the state team title, firing a 35-over-par 395 (in the format that takes the best five of six scores) on a blustery day at Poppy Hills GC. After never winning a title all year and barely qualifying, the team outlasted runner-up Royal High School of Simi Valley and last year's champion, Concord De La Salle.

"This is the first thing we won all year, yet here we are," said head coach Brendan Patch. "The kids had a great time playing here, what a great course."

The wind caused scores to soar by 20 strokes from the 375 winning total in 2005 by St. Augustine. NCGA/CIF champion Foothill High School managed just one score in the 70s while shooting a 50-over-par 410 to finish in fifth place.

Edison's Austen Dailey completed a sweep for the Southern California school, taking the individual title with an even-par 72. Northern California' s top finisher, Eric Mina of Bellarmine, finished second. The California-bound Mina was one stroke back.

Full results follow:

School Score
Edison 395
Royal 400
De La Salle 402
Clovis West 407
Foothill 410
Christian Brothers 422
Individual School Score
Austen Dailey Edison 72
Eric Mina (I) Bellermine 73
Bryan Harris (I) Palm Desert 74
Si Hwan Kim (I) Sunny Hills 74
James Erkenbeck (I) Torrey Pines 75
Ramsey Sahyoun (I) Campbell Hall 75
Ryan Williams Clovis West 75
Ben Murray (I) La Quinta 76
Matt Parkovich Edison 76
Brandon Van Dyke (I) E. Nicolaus 77
J.P. Gross De La Salle 77
Paul Misko Royal 77
Boris Stantchev (I) Wilson/LB 78
Chris Crownover Foothill 78
Matt Hoffenberg Royal 78
Taylor Travis (I) American 78
Danny Katz Royal 79
Kyle Holden Royal 79
Eric Pitcaithley Foothill 80
Mike Walter Clovis West 80
Tom Moore Edison 80
Andrew Roberts De La Salle 81
Eric DeJesus De La Salle 81
Kevin Renfer De La Salle 81
Tyler Raber (I) Davis 81
Andrew Haggen De La Salle 82
Brian Robinson Foothill 82
Cameron Rappleye Christian Brothers 82
Drew Wagner (I) Monte Vista 83
Joel Gillin Edison 83
Matt Jimenez Christian Brothers 83
Michael Weaver Clovis West 83
Pace Johnson Clovis West 84
Tyler Paul Edison 84
Anthony Machi Foothill 85
Brian O'Regan De La Salle 85
Conner Penfold Christian Brothers 85
Grant Rappleye Christian Brothers 85
Justin Gabbert Foothill 85
Trevor Guthrie Clovis West 85
Jordan Swanson Christian Brothers 87
Shane Blanchard Royal 87
Tommy Corbin Clovis West 87
Joe Doody Edison 89
Mat Miller Foothill 89
Trevor Blair (I) Colfax 89
Matt Minae Royal 90
Scott Hackney Christian Brothers 90

--Story courtesy NCGA

ABOUT THE California High School Boys

The California Interscholastic Federation is divided into four districts, and each provides contestants in the events based on district student population. The State Championship is a one-day event run by the NCGA and SCGA, with teams and individual students competing in 18 holes of stroke play. The top six individuals and top three teams of each region (Northern and Southern) advance to the State Championship, which rotates each year between Northern and Southern sites.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube