Gasparilla Invitational: Morrison Wins by 1

TAMPA, Florida (March 4, 2007) -- Mike Morrison took a 2-shot lead over Keith Decker of Virginia into the final round of the Gasparilla Invitational at Palma Ceia Country Club. And after his bogey, bogey, double bogey start on Sunday, he certainly didn't look like the eventual winner.

But Morrison made birdies at Nos. 4, 5, and 6 to right the ship until a double bogey at No. 12 placed him a stroke behind Decker. More heroics were in the works as Morrison birdied 13 and 15 to retake the lead. A Morrison bogey placed the players in a tie at the 18th tee. Morrison hit driver-8 iron into the 482-yard par 5, and got up-and-down for birdie from just short of the green to take the title.

The top of the leaderboard was as follows:

-- 213 -- Michael Morrison - Atlanta, GA

-- 214 -- Keith Decker - Martinsville, VA

-- 215 -- Pat Tallent - Vienna, VA

-- 216 -- Bob Royar

-- 218 -- Pat Olive Wayne Raath Jimmy Jones

-- 219 -- Porter Smith

-- 221 -- Gary Cona Neil Van Leeuwen

-- 222 -- Miko Walters

-- 223 -- Ed Parnell John Hammer Peter Dachisen John Cuomo

-- 224 -- John Baldwin Alan Fadel J. Hall G. Jeslar

-- 225 -- Steve Earsley J. Gabler D. Niles

-- 226 -- Doug Letson Mark Weston Jay Blumenfeld

ABOUT THE Gasparilla Invitational

54 holes stroke play. Good mix of Florida players and national competitors looking for an early season tune up. Played on a traditional, tree lined golf course that isn't very long but has small, undulating greens.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube