Semifinals set at Inaugural Oregon Four-Ball
The Inaugural Oregon Four-Ball is being held at Eagle Crest Resort <br>(OGA Photo)
The Inaugural Oregon Four-Ball is being held at Eagle Crest Resort
(OGA Photo)
REDMOND, OR (August 29, 2016) -- The final day of the Inaugural Oregon Amateur Four-Ball Championship will commence on Tuesday, August 30th at Eagle Crest Resort – Ridge Course in Redmond, Ore.

The Open Division will consist of two semifinal matches in the morning, teeing off at 7:30 and 7:42 a.m. PST.

All three divisions will then hold a championship match in the afternoon. The Women’s Championship will tee off at 12:30 p.m., the Senior Men’s Championship will tee off at 12:45 p.m., and the Open Championship will tee off at 1:00 p.m. Each championship match will include 18-holes.

The first match of the Open Division semifinals will pit the top-seeded team of Jim Dunlap (Beaverton, Ore.) and Jay Poletiek (Portland, Ore.) against Chris Dukeminier (Portland, Ore.) and William Snow (Vancouver, Ore.), the four-seed. Both squads won their quarterfinal matches Monday afternoon by a 4 and 3 margin.

In the second semifinal, two-seed and Concordia University duo Ryan Melnychuk (Grants Pass, Ore.) and Tanner Huddleston (Woodland, Wash.) will face the sixth-seeded team in Brent McKee and Trevor Harding (Portland, Ore.). As well as with the first semifinal teams, both semifinalists in this matchup earned 4 and 3 victories in their afternoon quarterfinal matches.

The biggest upset of the day occurred in the Round of 16. Pre-tournament favorite and three-seed Kevin and Matt Geniza (Corvallis, Ore.) fell to another Concordia University duo, Jarred Gomez (Vancouver, Wash.) and Jake Wiley (Portland, Ore.) 1-up.

The championship match in the Women’s Division will feature the top two seeds after both advanced past tough semifinal matches on Monday. The top-seeded duo of Ginny Burkey (Eugene, Ore.) and Lisa Smego (Olympia, Wash.) won the 16th hole of an all-square match against Debbie Friede (Washougal, Wash.) and Katy Wright (Camas, Wash.), holding on to win their match 1-up.

They’ll face second-seed Gretchen Johnson and Amanda Jacobs (Portland, Ore.) for the inaugural title. They took a 2-up lead against Nettie Morrison and Amy Anderson (Bend, Ore.) into the back nine, winning the 10th and 11th holes to gain some breathing room and ultimately winning the match 4 and 3.

In the Senior Men’s Division, the championship will be decided between No. 4 Stein Swenson and Carey Watson (Bend, Ore.) and No. 2, David Lydell (Beaverton, Ore.) and Mark Bowler (Portland, Ore.). Swenson/Watson upset the top-seeded team of Charley Griswold and Don Orrell (Bend, Ore.) in Monday’s semifinals, setting up a showdown with Lydell and Bowler. The two cruised to a 4 and 3 win in their semifinal, but went 20 holes to advance in their quarterfinal match earlier in the day.

View results for Oregon Four-Ball Championship

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube