Kathleen Scavo will be top-seed at California Women's Amateur
The brackets are set at the California Women's Amateur <br>(NCGA Photo)</br>
The brackets are set at the California Women's Amateur
(NCGA Photo)

CARMEL-BY-THE-SEA, CA (July 27, 2016) -- Benicia resident Kathleen Scavo and San Jose’s Sabrina Iqbal will be the No.1 and No.2 seeds, respectively, at this week’s annual California Women’s Amateur Championship.

Scavo, a sophomore at sophomore at the University of Oregon, shot a 2-under 70 in the second round of stroke play qualifying to move up and tie Iqbal for medalist honors at 1-over 145 on Wednesday at par-72 Quail Lodge Resort. Iqbal, who’s coming off a win at the recent NCGA Junior Championship, followed up an opening round 71 with a 74.

A two-time winner of the California Junior Girls’ State Championship, Scavo had quite a turnaround. Through her first nine holes of qualifying on Tuesday, she was in danger of missing the cut after going 6-over. The former Justin-Siena High standout rediscovered her game, however, as she’d go 5-under over her next 27 holes.

Iqbal, the Player of the Year each of the past two seasons on the Junior Tour of Northern California, was at a total of 3-under through the first 31 holes, but played her final five at 4-over.

In Thursday morning’s Round of 32, Scavo will take on No.32 seed Caris Kim while Iqbal will face No.31 Kyleigh Moreno of San Jose.

The No.3 seed is San Jose’s Katherine Zhu, who came in at 146 after a 71. The No.4 seed is Sacramento’s Erika Salinas, who also shot 146 after a 73.

Former four-time champion Lynne Cowan of Rocklin (150), who is looking to become the event’s first five-time champion, is the No.16 seed and will open versus No.17 Elizabeth Scholtes of Alameda. Should both Scavo and Cowan win their opening matches, they’d face each other in Thursday’s afternoon Round of 16.

San Ramon’s Yoonhee Kim, the runner-up at last year’s championship, is the No.11 seed and will open against No.22 Sadie Strain of Arbuckle.

Friday’s play will consist of the quarterfinals and semifinals, with the 18-hole final to be held Saturday morning at Pebble Beach Golf Links. The championship, founded by women’s golf legend Helen Lengfeld in 1967, was annually held at Pebble Beach until 1987.

Former champions of the event include four-time winner and current LPGA Tour member Mina Harigae and Natalie Gulbis.

ABOUT THE California Women's Amateur

The California Women’s Amateur Championship was founded in 1967 and played at Pebble Beach Golf Links until 1987 when the Championship was invited to Quail Lodge & Golf Club in Carmel, where the tournament remains to this day.

36-hole stroke play qualifying round, 18 holes each day, to determine 32 players for match play. Prizes will be awarded to the Champion, Runner-up, Semifinalists, Quarterfinalists and the 36-hole Low Gross Medalist from qualifying rounds.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube