Georgia Team Championship: Laurel Springs Wins on a Tiebreaker
29 Oct 2006
see also: Georgia Team Championship, The Georgia Club


STATHAM, GA (October 29, 2006) -- When does a non-counting score count? The team from Laurel Springs Golf Club answered this existential question Sunday when the first-round leaders withstood a furious comeback by the Atlanta Athletic Club to take the title. The two teams shared the winning score of 351.

Laurel Springs (team members Dave Poteet, Lee Denoya, DeWitt Weaver III, and Timothy McCabe) won by virtue of a tiebreaker to capture its first Georgia Team Championship at The Georgia Club. The two teams tied at 4-under-par 351 for the championship. The Country Club of Columbus finished third (357), followed by Dalton Golf and Country Club (362) and Cartersville Country Club (364).

Laurel Springs held a five-stroke lead over Atlanta Athletic Club going into the final round, which was a best three-of-four stroke play format. Atlanta Athletic Club shot 2-over-par 215 for the round, counting scores of 69, 71 and 75 to make up its deficit on Laurel Springs, which counted scores of 71, 74, and 75. With the two teams tied at 351, the winner was determined by the fourth (non-counting) score from each team. Laurel Springs’ high score was 76 to Atlanta Athletic Club’s 80, giving Laurel Springs the title.

Laurel Springs GC totaled 7-over-par 220 in the final round with a 71 from Dave Poteet of Duluth, a 74 from Suwanee’s Timothy McCabe and a 75 from Lee Denoya of Suwanee. DeWitt Weaver III, also of Suwanee, provided the 76 that made the difference in the playoff.

Atlanta Athletic Club’s comeback was spurred by Atlanta’s West Streib, who carded 2-under 69. He was aided by a 71 from Cumming’s Doug Green and a 75 from Norcross’ Rob Langley. Atlanta’s Doc Barnes carded 80 for AAC.

David Noll Jr. of Dalton G&CC turned in the low round of the day, a 3-under 68. Noll, Strieb and Don Marsh of Alpharetta and Rivermont G&CC (69) were the only players to break 70 on The Georgia Club’s 6,971-yard, par-71 layout.

Entries were open to four-man teams of male amateur golfers who are Georgia residents and selected by their GSGA member club. The field was open to 30 teams on a first come, first serve basis.

GSGA conducts 18 statewide competitions for men and women of all age groups, three interstate matches and 17 USGA qualifying events each year. Other services include computerized handicapping, course rating and measuring, a summer-long junior sectional competitions program, Golf Georgia magazine and two college scholarship programs.

Final Results Round 1: Four-Ball Matches Round 2: Best 3-of-4 Stroke Play

Rank Team Name Rd. 1 Rd. 2 To Par Total T1 Laurel Springs GC - 351* DeWitt Weaver III, Suwanee 65 76 Lee Denoya, Suwanee 75 Dave Poteet, Duluth 66 71 Timothy McCabe, Suwanee 74 T1 Atlanta Athletic Club - 351 West Streib, Atlanta 68 69 Doug Green, Cumming 71 Doc Barnes, Atlanta 68 80 Rob Langley, Norcross 75 3 CC of Columbus - 357 Carter Mize, Columbus 69 73 Mat Mize, Columbus 74 Tra Dykes, Columbus 68 74 Bart Middlebrooks, Columbus 73 4 Dalton G & CC - 362 David Noll Jr., Dalton 71 68 Mike Nance, Calhoun 77 John Powell, Dalton 71 75 Pete Webster, Ringgold 77 5 Cartersville CC - 364 Chris Hall, Marietta 66 73 Scott Davenport, Marietta 76 Jayce Stepp, Cartersville 72 80 Ricky Wilson, Cartersville 77

T6 Reynolds Plantation - 365 Clarke Rheney, Greensboro 68 73 Ron Waeghe, Greensboro 75 Tom Cornelia, Greensboro 73 76 Mel Mendenhall, Marietta 76 T6 Rivermont G & CC - 365 Brandon Nelson, Roswell 72 72 Don Marsh, Alpharetta 69 Spencer Sappington, Alpharetta 73 79 Erik Martin, Alpharetta 79 T8 GC of Georgia - 369 William Stahlke III, Alpharetta 70 81 Joe Spagnuolo, Alpharetta 79 Cory Hurley, Atlanta 71 70 Don Kleckner, Cumming 79 T8 Dunwoody CC - 369 Mike Griffin, Atlanta 72 74 Scott Griffin, Dunwoody 72 Scott Smith, Atlanta 75 76 Todd Bridges, Alpharetta 78 T8 Athens CC - 369 Doug Henson Jr., Athens 76 75 Joe Peters, Watkinsville 77 Doug Stiles, Athens 69 74 Brandon Farley, Atlanta 75

ABOUT THE Georgia Team

Entries: Open to four-man teams of male amateur golfers who are selected by their GSGA Member Club.

Field: First 30 club teams.

Format: One round of four-ball stroke play and one round of best three of four individual stroke play

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube