115th PNGA Men's Amateur Championship Set to Begin Today
Wine Valley Golf Club <br>(Wine Valley Golf Club Photo)</br>
Wine Valley Golf Club
(Wine Valley Golf Club Photo)

WALLA WALLA, WA (July 18, 2016) -- Wine Valley Golf Club in Walla Walla, Wash. is set to host the most talented male amateur golfers in the Pacific Northwest and beyond on July 18-23 at the 115th Pacific Northwest Men's Amateur Championship, conducted by the Pacific Northwest Golf Association (PNGA).

The championship, which has a full field of 168 players, begins with 36 holes of stroke-play qualifying held on July 18-19, followed by a cut to the low 64 players who will advance to single elimination match play.

Each match will then be contested over 18 holes, with the exception of the final match, which will be played over 36 holes on July 23.

Last year's championship concluded at Sunriver (Ore.) Resort when Anthony Quayle of Queensland, Australia birdied the 36th hole in the final match for a 1-up win over Shintaro Ban of San Jose, Calif.

Quayle joined an elite group of past champions that includes names such as Tiger Woods, Jeff Quinney, Ben Crane, Jeff Coston, Nick Flanagan, Jim McLean and Pacific Northwest Golf Hall of Famers Chandler Egan, Harry Givan, Jack Westland, Bud Ward and George Holland, among many others.

One of the oldest amateur golf championships in the world, players will compete for the Macan Cup, which is named after legendary golf course designer A.V. Macan, a member of the Pacific Northwest Golf Hall of Fame and winner of this championship in 1913.

This year's field is again comprised of some of the best talent in the Pacific Northwest and beyond, including Derek Bayley of Rathdrum, Idaho, who last month won the Idaho State Amateur, and had won the 2012 PNGA Amateur Public Links. A junior at Washington State University, Bayley competed earlier this year in the U.S. Amateur Four-Ball, paired with WSU teammate Aaron Whalen of Ephrata, Wash., who is also in the field of this championship.

Also in the field are Graysen Huff of Eagle, Idaho, who this year has already won the Idaho Match Play Championship and finished second at the 2016 Idaho State Amateur. Huff was named the 2014 PNGA Junior Boys' Player of the Year.

Connor Barr of Beaverton, Ore. looks to continue his hot summer, having already won the 2016 Oregon Amateur; while Brian Humphreys of Washougal, Wash., who lost to Barr in the Oregon Amateur's final match, is also in the field. Vinnie Murphy of Edgewood, Wash. and Kaleb Gorbahn of Smithers, B.C. both qualified last month for the 2016 U.S. Amateur, and are both in this field.

Reid Hatley of Hayden Lake, Idaho, the 2015 PNGA Men's Mid-Amateur Player of Year, is also in the field.

The Pacific Northwest Men's Amateur Championship is one of 15 major, regional, amateur championships for men, women, juniors, and seniors conducted annually by the PNGA throughout the Northwest.

Wine Valley previously hosted the Pacific Northwest Men's Amateur Championship in 2012, and also was the site of the 2013 Pacific Northwest Women's Amateur.

The PNGA was founded on February 4, 1899. It is a 501c3 charitable, international

Results For Pacific Northwest Amateur Championship
WinChinaCarl YuanChina400
Runner-upWAAndrew WhalenEphrata, WA300
SemifinalsCAPete GriffithWestlake Village, CA200
SemifinalsWADrew McCulloughRichland, WA200
QuarterfinalsWARyan WallenBlaine, WA100

View full results for Pacific Northwest Amateur Championship


First held in 1899, the Pacific Northwest Men’s Amateur is one of the country’s longest running amateur championships. Held annually at world-class courses throughout the Pacific Northwest, this championship is played in the same format as the U.S. Amateur and features an impressive list of past champions that include; Nick Flanagan, Ben Crane, Jeff Quinney, Bill Sander, and Tiger Woods. Eligibility is open to members of the Pacific Northwest Golf Association and top amateurs throughout the world invited via Presidential Invitation. Each year’s champion earns a hosted exemption in to the Pacific Coast Amateur and Sahalee Players Championship.

The Championship will be conducted in two stages:

Stroke Play – All players must complete the 36-hole stroke play qualifying in order to determine the 64 players who will advance to match play. In the event of a tie for the final qualifying spot(s), a sudden- death playoff will be used to determine the qualifiers. In the event of a tie for the Qualifying Medalist, a sudden-death playoff will commence.

Match Play – The General Numerical Draw will be in effect. Single elimination match play. 36-hole Championship Final Match. All other matches are 18 holes.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube