Defending Southern Amateur champion Taylor Funk leads with Second Round underway
Taylor Funk <br>(Golfweek Photo)</br>
Taylor Funk
(Golfweek Photo)

MYRTLE BEACH, SC (July 14, 2016) -- Defending champion Taylor Funk is at again at the Southern Amateur. With the first round now complete, Funk continues to lead, thanks to a 5-under 67 at The Dunes Golf & Beach Club.

Funk, a rising redshirt junior at Texas, birdied the 2nd hole to get the ball rolling. He followed that birdie up with birdies on Nos. 6, 8, 13 and 16.

Recent Tennessee graduate Michael Nagy, finished the first round in second place, after a 4-under 68. Nagy only bogeyed one hole during a five birdie round.

With the second round now underway a large majority of the field is still very much in the picture. Some of the notable contenders include the top-ranked mid-amateur in the field Garret Rank, Australian Cameron Davis, Michael Decker and Cheng Jin.

Results For Southern Amateur Golf Championship
1FLJimmy StangerTampa, FL120072-68-70-66=276
2VAZach BauchouForest, VA90071-70-68-68=277
3PhilippinesLloyd Jefferson GoPhilippines70068-71-68-71=278
4FLTaylor FunkPonte Vedra, FL70067-69-74-69=279
T5NCAlex SmalleyWake Forest, NC70073-72-68-69=282

View full results for Southern Amateur Golf Championship

ABOUT THE Southern Amateur

The Southern Amateur, which dates back to 1902, is one of two competitions held by the Southern Golf Association. (The other is the Southern Junior.) Its champions roster is like a who’s who’s of competitive golf. (And the same could be said of the standing of its host clubs.) Leading this group is Robert T. (Bobby) Jones, Jr., who was the Southern Amateur Champion in 1917, 1920, and 1922. Others who have won or finished in a challenging position and gone on to national and/or international prominence include Tommy Barnes, Dale Morey, Don January, Gay Brewer, Doug Sanders, Billy Joe Patton, Lew Oehmig, Hubert Green, Downing Gray, Marvin (Vinny) Giles, Lanny Wadkins, Steve Melnyk, Tom Kite, John Mahaffey, Ben Crenshaw, Gary Koch, Bill Rogers, Gil Morgan, Danny Edwards, Andy Bean, Vance Haefner, Jerry Pate, Chip Beck, David Edwards, Jay Sigel, Bob Tway, Mark Brooks, Gene Sauers, Davis Love, Justin Leonard and more recently PGA Tour standouts Webb Simpson and Kyle Stanley, who won twice each between 2005 and 2008 in alternate years.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube