Fernandez, Knabe team for Kansas Four-Ball title
Connor Knabe and Ben Fernandez with Kansas Four-Ball trophy <br>(Kansas Golf Association Photo)</br>
Connor Knabe and Ben Fernandez with Kansas Four-Ball trophy
(Kansas Golf Association Photo)

LAWRENCE, KS (June 12, 2016) -- Thanks to back-to-back 11-under 61's, Ben Fernadndez and Connor Knabe have propelled themselves victory at the Kansas Four-Ball Championship. The duo finished an impressive 22-under at Eagle Bend Golf Course and three clear of the rest of the field.

Throughout the entire 36-hole tournament, Fernandez and Knabe did not record a single bogey. In the first round on Saturday, the duo combined for nine birdies and two eagles. Their eagles came on back-to-back holes, the par-4 11th and par-5 12th. On Sunday they tallied 11 birdies including seven in an eight hole span from 9-16.

Even with the flawless golf, Fernandez and Knabe had to play catch up during the final round. Chase Hanna and Charlie Hillier opened with a 13-under 59 on Saturday to take the lead into Sunday. The 59 came as a result of 11 birdies and an eagle.

On the final day Hanna and Hillier were in the mix all day long but had two costly holes. After moving to 16-under with three birdies in first six holes, the pairing stumbled with a double-bogey on the 8th and a bogey on No. 9. Despite six birdies on homeward nine the two hole stretch proved to be what did the first round leaders in. Hanna and Hillier finished 19-under and in second place.

The teams of Alex Higgs/ Park Ulrich and Matt and Max Lazzo shared third at 14-under while Tavin Dugan/Justice Valdivia and Ben Maskus/ Jack Rickabaugh were fifth at 13-under.

ABOUT THE Kansas Four-Ball

Must be a member of the Kansas Golf Association. 36 holes of four-ball stroke play (gross scoring only) with two divisions: Open (players of any age) and Masters (both players age 30+). Champion to be determined in each division.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube