Lupton Invitational begins today
27 May 2016
by Sam Dostaler of AmateurGolf.com

see also: John T. Lupton Memorial Golf Tournament, The Honors Course, Charles Waddell Rankings

Charlie Waddell looks to defend Lupton Invitational title
Charlie Waddell looks to defend Lupton Invitational title

OOLTEWAH, TN (May 27, 2016) - For the 12th time the John L. Lupton Invitational will be contested on The Honors Course. Over the year's the course has hosted many significant events and this July it will host the U.S. Junior Amateur Championship.

The event, named for club founder John T. Lupton, is played on the Pete Dye-designed course that hosted the 1991 U.S. Amateur and 1996 NCAA Championship won by Tiger Woods.

The 54-hole event, which begins today and runs through Sunday, includes a 36-hole cut and features mid-amateur, senior and super senior flights.

Once more the field includes many of the top player's in the country. Leading the field will be Chicago's Charles Waddell, the defending champion. Waddell won last year's event in a playoff over Joseph Deraney who is also in the field again this year. Deraney, from Lexington, KY, won the Timuquana Cup at the beginning of the month.

The mid-amateur field also includes Patrick Christovich fresh off his semifinal finish at the U.S. Amateur Four-Ball. Christovich, of New Orleans, has showed well in big events this year finishing sixth at the Azalea Invitational and tied for 10th at the Coleman Invitational.

Other mid-amateur names to keep an eye on are Brad Wilder who recently finished second at the Walter Invitational, Aaron Hickman and Carlton Woods Invitational winner Colby Harwell.

Michael Mercier, the defending champion in the senior division is back as well this year. The Juno Beach, FL resident will be joined in a deep senior field by Randy Elliot and Jack Hall.

Elliot, from Winter Park, FL, has tied for third at the Florida Azalea Senior, tied for fifth at the Golfweek Senior National Championship and shared 12th at the Jones Cup Senior so far this year.

Jack Hall is presently the 5th ranked senior player in the country. Hall, of Savannah, GA, has won the Gasparilla Senior already this season and has placed top-five in three other major events, including a runner-up finish at the Timuquana Cup Senior.

The super senior division will be lead by returning champion Bob Kain of La Quinta, CA. Kain is off to a strong start this year, most notably finishing in sixth place at the Golfweek Senior Amateur. He will be joined in the field by among other's Timuquana Cup Senior winner Steve Melnyk of Jacksonville, FL.

Results For John T. Lupton Memorial Golf Tournament
1KYJoseph DeraneyLexington, KY30069-72-71=212
T2INKenny CookNoblesville, IN20071-75-73=219
T2ILCharles WaddellChicago, IL20072-72-75=219
T4TNSteve JohnsonSignal Mountain, TN10075-71-74=220
T4LAPatrick ChristovichNew Orleans, LA10071-73-76=220

View full results for John T. Lupton Memorial Golf Tournament

ABOUT THE Lupton Memorial Invitational

This event, named after club founder John T. Lupton, debuted in 2005 on a spectacular Pete Dye golf course near Chatanooga. Mitch Voges won the 1991 U.S. Amateur here, and Tiger Woods won the 1996 NCAA Championship here despite a final round 80. 54 hole individual event with a 36 hole cut. Stroke play format for the Championship division and Stableford format for the Senior division. Committee will invite 72 mid ams and 54 senior ams. The field will be cut to approximately 75% in each division following the 2nd round.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube