Governor's Cup: Mississippi over Arkansas
MERIDIAN, MS (May 7, 2016) - This weekend the 11th Annual Governors Cup was played at historic Northwood Country Club. Mississippi hosted the Arkansas State Golf Association for Ryder cup format matches between the two associations. Arkansas took the early lead winning 6.5 points on Friday morning in the four-ball matches to Mississippi's 3.5 points. After a quick lunch break, the foursome matches began in the afternoon. Mississippi's seniors put early points on the board in the alternate shot format. Mississippi won 8 points to Arkansas' 2 points in the foursome matches. Mississippi took a 3 point lead into Saturday's Singles Matches leading 11.5-8.5

Saturday's singles matches were back and forth all day. Mississippi needed 9 points to win the Governor's Cup with Arkansas needing 11.5 poinnts to tie and retain the cup. The Mississippi seniors came out strong winning 5.5 out of a 10 possible points to keep a slight edge over Arkansas. ASGA's team members Dixon, Jenkins, Zimmerman, and Schaap came back fighting to take four points. With the matches really close and four matches still on the course each player had their states/teammates rooting them on.

Brandon Laird and Noah Goldman's two points secured the win and brought the cup back to the Magnolia State. Clay Homan and Beau Glover were all square going into the final hole, thinking the cup was on the line. Homan won the match 1 up, to give Mississippi 10.5 points to Arkansas's 9.5 points advantage in the Saturday singles matches.

When the dust had settled Mississippi had won the 11th Annual Governors Cup by a 22-18 score.

ABOUT THE Governor's Cup

Team matches between amateur teams representing the Arkansas and Mississippi state golf associations.

Format: The Governor's Cup is a Ryder cup format. Team Mississippi competes with Team Arkansas in Four-Ball Match Play, Foursome (alternate shot) Match Play and Singles Match Play. Each match is worth 1 point.

Eligibility: The cup team is comprised of 20 competitors; 10 regular, 8 sernior and 2 super senior. The team is selected from the player of the year points from the previous year.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube