Finals are Set at Carolinas Four-Ball
CAMDEN, SC (May 7, 2016) - Number nine seed Phillip Oweida – William Rainey of Charlotte, NC will face the 15 seed team of Michael Thigpen – Gregg Jones of Florence, SC in the 18-hole championship match at 8:00am on Sunday at Camden Country Club.

Oweida and Rainey, both rising seniors at College of Charleston, defeated the father-son team of Walter Todd – Neal Todd from Laurens, SC in the morning quarterfinals 2 and 1. They made seven birdies in the first 12 holes to build a five hole lead with six to play. Todd-Todd won holes 13 through 15, but Oweida-Rainey closed them out on hole 17. In the semifinal match, they needed only 16 holes to defeat Chris Mitchell of Proseprity, SC – Jarrett Grimes of Columbia, SC. The match wasn’t as smooth sailing as their morning match, as they found themselves two-down after just four- holes. They won four of five holes in the middle of the round to take control and get the victory.

On the other side of the bracket, Thigpen, a business owner and Jones, a medical sales representative, had much tighter matches Saturday as they played 18 or more holes in each match. In their morning quarterfinal match, they defeated Josh Campbell of Piedmont, SC – Will Jones of Easley, SC in 19 holes. Neither team led by more than a hole, and Thigpen-Jones had to make birdie on 18 to force extra holes and win on the 19th with another birdie. In their semifinal match, they had to shoot 31 on the back nine and match birdies on holes 16 and 18 to defeat Parks Price of Calabash, NC – McLean Boyd of Charleston, SC 1-up.

ABOUT THE Carolinas Four-Ball

The Four-Ball Championship of the Carolinas is a perennial favorite with the Carolina's best amateur golfers. Two rounds of Four-Ball stroke play format (one best ball of the two) determine the 32 teams to advance to match play. Entry is open to any male amateur golfer who is a legal resident of one of the Carolinas, is a member in good standing of a club which is a member of the Carolinas Golf Association (CGA) and has a current (within 90 days of opening date) USGA handicap index at a CGA member club. The championship team receives merchandise, trophies and names inscribed on the Hale Van Hoy Trophy. Stroke play qualifying medalists’ names will be inscribed on the Joe B. McCarley Cup. Additional prizes are awarded to all match play contestants.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube