NCAA Division I Field announced
05 May 2016
by AmateurGolf.com Staff

Beau Hossler and Texas are on of the NCAA favorites <br>(Golfweek.com Photo)</br>
Beau Hossler and Texas are on of the NCAA favorites
(Golfweek.com Photo)

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (May 5, 2016) – The field for the 2016 NCAA Division I Championship has been announced. The preliminary rounds will be played from May 16-18 at six regional sites with the National Championship scheduled for May 27-June 1 at Eugene Country Club in Eugene, OR.

71 teams and 40 individuals will compete in the regional round. Following the completion of regional play five teams and the low individual not on one of the competing teams will advance to Eugene and have a chance at a National Championship.

Last year LSU won the team title and Bryson DeChambeau captured the medalist honors . DeChambeau has since turned professional.

Here is a look at the top-four seeds and individual players in each region:

Albuquerque (NM) Regional

Course: Championship Course at the University of New Mexico
Host School: University of New Mexico

Top-Four Teams:
1. USC (Pac-12)
2. Arizona State (Pac-12)
3. South Florida (AAC)
4. San Diego State (MWC)

1. Hayden Shieh (Santa Clara)
2. Patrick Fishburn (BYU)
3. Frederik Dreier (UTEP)
4. Trevor Clayton (Fresno State)
5. Nicholas Dilio (St. Peter’s)

Franklin (TN) Regional

Course: Vanderbilt Legends Club
Host School: Vanderbilt University

Top-Four Teams:
1. Texas (Big 12)
2. Vanderbilt (SEC)
3. LSU (SEC)
4. Washington (Pac-12)

1. Ryan Cole (James Madison)
2. Ryan Cornfield (South Carolina Upstate)
3. Matthew Lowe (Richmond)
4. Jose Montano (Xavier)
5. Patrick Cover (UNC Wilmington)
6. Thomas Eldridge (UNC Wilmington)
7. Joey Lane (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University)
8. Jake McGlone (UNC Greensboro)
9. Ryan Wenzler (Wright State)
10. U Minn Woon (Fairleigh Dickenson)

Marana (AZ) Regional

Course: Gallery Golf Club
Host School: University of Arizona

Top-Four Teams:
1. Stanford (Pac-12)
2. Wake Forest (ACC)
3. California (Pac-12)
4. Oregon (Pac-12)

1. Sean Walsh (Gonzaga)
2. Brandon Bauman (University of California, Santa Barbara)3. Alex Chiarella (San Diego)
4. Daniel Chian (Long Beach State)
5. Aaron Beverly (California State, Sacremento)

Kohler (WI) Regional

Course: Black Work Run Meadow Valleys Course
Host School: Marquette University

Top-Four Teams:
1. Illinois (Big Ten)
2. Florida State (ACC)
3. Florida (SEC)
4. Arkansas (SEC)

1. Lloyd Jefferson (Seton Hall)
2. Patrick Flavin (Miami-OH)
3. Billy Walthouse (Rhode Island)
4. Otto Black (Toledo)
5. Tee-k Kelly (Ohio State)
6. Will Grimmer (Ohio State)
7. George Baylis (Akron)
8. Trent Wallace (Illinois State)
9. Luke Graboyes (Cornell)
10. Evan Russell (Hartford)

Stillwater (OK) Regional

Course: Karsten Creek Golf Club
Host School: Oklahoma State University

Top-Four Teams:
1. Oklahoma State (Big 12)
2. Clemson (ACC)
3. Oklahoma (Big 12)
4. Duke (ACC)

1. Nick Voke (Iowa State)
2. Haraldur Magnus (University of Louisiana at Lafayette)
3. Grant Bennett (Wichita State)
4. Kevin Gordon (Nebraska)
5. Thomas McLaughlin (Texas Southern)

Tuscaloosa (AL) Regional

Course: Ol’ Colony Golf Complex
Host School: University of Alabama

Top-Four Teams:
1. Georgia (SEC)
2. Auburn (SEC)
3. South Carolina (SEC)
4. Alabama (SEC)

1. David Kocher (Maryland)
2. Braden Thornberry (Mississippi)
3. Wes Gosselin (University of Tennessee at Chattanooga)
4. Andrew Novak (Wofford)
5. Frank Medale (Jacksonville)
6. Tom Harris (Maryland)
7. Manuel Elvira (Central Florida)
8. Seth Grady (UNC Charlotte)
9. Peter Staalbo (South Alabama)
10. David Wicks (Jacksonville)

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube