Eddie Hogan Cup Team Matches: SoCal jumps to front

PORTLAND, OR (August 19, 2006) -- The Hogan Cup 36-hole team matches pit the best junior golfers from the Western United States and Canada against each other in a team format with the three lowest scores each day determining the team total. Medals are awarded to the top three teams as well as the top three individuals in the field.

Southern California, with hopes of earning their tenth victory in the history of the event, has a 6-stroke lead over the Oregon #1 team while the Oregon #2 and San Diego teams are 14-strokes back. They have a very strong team with three players among the top five players in the tournament. However, Isaiah Telles of Tualatin, Ore. tops the leaderboard with a 5-under par 34-33—67, and Robbie Ziegler of Canby, Ore. is just 1-stroke back.

Ziegler got off to slow start shooting 2-over par on his front nine including a penalty stroke for a lost ball, however he blistered the back nine with a 6-under par 30, just missing by inches the possibility of posting a score a 29.

Ziegler is tied with Alex Shi Yup Kim who leads the Southern California contingent. That team also included defending Individual Champion, Louis Amira, 16, of Valencia, Calif. who was 2-under par at 36-34—70.

Last year, Amira set a new tournament record of 6-under par 67-71—138, better than three other golfers that shared the prior record of 4-under par 140. The list includes prior title holders Ricky Barnes of Northern California, Joe Panzeri of Idaho and Dustin Andres of Tualatin, Ore. His score also was better than fellow Southern Californian Tiger Woods, then of Cypress, Calif. who had shot 72-73—145 in his rain-soaked visit to Portland in 1990. Being selected to compete in Hogan Cup matches is an honor that has been bestowed to few individuals, and the excellence of past participants is indicative of the quality of the small, select field. Hogan Cup alumni include PGA Tour players such as Fred Couples, Scott Simpson, Robert Gamez, Kirk Triplett, Peter Jacobsen and Tiger Woods, the individual champion in 1990.

The Eddie Hogan Cup Team Matches were inaugurated in 1969 by Riverside Golf & Country Club in commemoration of the vast achievements and contributions to the sport by Eddie Hogan, their long-time head golf professional who served the club from 1939 until his tragic drowning death in 1968. Hogan, an Oregon Amateur champion and PNGA Amateur Champion, was credited for transforming the role of the golf professional, developing what is now considered the standard for the green grass pro shop. Hogan was also dedicated in helping the Oregon Golf Association develop its widely-recognized junior golf program.

ROUND ONE TEAM RESULTS 1 Southern California -8 208 2 Oregon 1 -3 213 T3 Oregon 2 +5 221 T3 San Diego +5 221 T5 Hawaii +6 222 T5 Northern California +6 222 T7 Washington +10 226 T7 Arizona +10 226 9 British Columbia +12 228 10 Utah +17 233 11 Idaho +19 235 12 Nevada +22 238

ROUND ONE INDIVIDUAL RESULTS 1 Isaiah Telles Oregon 1 34-33--67 -5 T2 Robbie Ziegler Oregon 1 38-30--68 -4 T2 Alex Shi Yup Kim Southern California 35-33--68 -4 T4 Louis Amira Southern California 36-34--70 -2 T4 Josh Anderson Southern California 33-37--70 -2 T4 Nick Shimozaki Hawaii 33-37--70 -2 T4 Daniel Miernicki San Diego 34-36--70 -2 T4 Nick Chianello Oregon 2 35-35--70 -2 9 Branden Dalton Nevada 37-35--72 E T10 Sam Smith Northern California 40-33--73 +1 T10 Vincent Strong San Diego 35-38--73 +1 T12 Henry Park Hawaii 38-36--74 +2 T12 Amit Odaiyar Northern California 36-38--74 +2 T12 Kevin Penner Washington 37-37--74 +2 T12 Blake Brown Arizona 36-38--74 +2 T16 Derek Ernst Northern California 37-38--75 +3 T16 Alexander Moore Washington 36-39--75 +3 T16 Sean Jarvis British Columbia 37-38--75 +3 T16 Jack Dukeminier Oregon 2 41-34--75 +3 T16 Stephen Denton Arizona 35-40--75 +3 T21 Joe Weber Utah 36-40--76 +4 T21 Kevin Spooner British Columbia 37-39--76 +4 T21 Eric Grimberg Oregon 2 37-39--76 +4 T24 Tanner Higham Idaho 40-37--77 +5 T24 Ian Muldur British Columbia 39-38--77 +5 T24 Ian Dahl Washington 39-38--77 +5 T24 Philip Bagdade Oregon 2 39-38--77 +5 T24 Jeff Eggen Arizona 42-35--77 +5 T29 Colton Knedler Hawaii 39-39--78 +6 T29 Jeffrey Jones Utah 41-37--78 +6 T29 Sam Kloenne Oregon 1 44-34--78 +6 T29 Tommy Higham Idaho 36-42--78 +6 T29 Austin Love Northern California 38-40--78 +6 T29 Jesse Nippress Arizona 41-37--78 +6 T29 Clark Granum San Diego 39-39--78 +6 T36 Andrew Vijarro Oregon 1 40-39--79 +7 T36 Jordan Herzog Utah 38-41--79 +7 T38 Max Bonk Hawaii 40-40--80 +8 T38 David Zeuske Southern California 43-37--80 +8 T38 Andrew French Idaho 42-38--80 +8 T38 Erik Swinburnson British Columbia 40-40--80 +8 42 Cameron Bawden Nevada 44-37--81 +9 T43 Patrick Fishburn Utah 43-39--82 +10 T43 Thomas Jun Washington 43-39--82 +10 45 Connor McCracken Idaho 47-36--83 +11 46 Dillon Hakes San Diego 43-41--84 +12 47 Bobby McCracken Nevada 43-42--85 +13 48 Chris Farrelly Nevada 38-50--88 +16


Matches are held each August at Riverside CC, named in honor of Eddie Hogan, the long time Golf Professional at Riverside who was the victim of a drowning accident in 1968. Eddie was a past Western Amateur Champion and a winner of many regional professional tournaments. These matches pit the best junior players from the Western States and Canada against each other in a team format. Competing in the Hogan Cup matches is an honor that has been bestowed to few individuals. Though the field is small, it is very select. For example, such tour players as Bobby Clampett, Rick Fehr, Robert Gamez, Kirk Triplett, Jim Nelford, John Fought, Bill Sander, Peter Jacobsen and Tiger Woods have competed. The four man teams use their three lowest 18 hole scores each day to determine their team total. Medals are awarded to the top three teams as well as the top three individuals in the field.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube