Munn, Musselman lead early at Southern Amateur
Joshua Munn
Joshua Munn

WEST POINT, Miss. — New Zealander Josh Munn and University of Kentucky sophomore Cooper Musselman share the opening-round lead in the incomplete first round Wednesday at the 109th Southern Amateur being played at Old Waverly Cub.

Munn, 24, who plans to turn pro later this summer and Musselman, a rising sophomore at UK, each shot 5-under-par 66s to lead an elite international field. Play was halted by darkness after a two-hour weather delay, leaving 63 players having to complete their first round early Thursday. Munn was bogey-free, while Mussleman, who has won five high-school tournaments, holed a three-foot birdie on his final hole to reclaim a share of the lead.

Two strokes back at 68 were Australians Jarryd Felton, Ben Ecccles, and Simon Vitakengas, as well as Josh Lee of Orange Park, Florida.

Low Mississippians among the finishers at even-par 71 were Hattiesburg's David Riley and Olive Branch's Braden Thornberry.

Early favorite Bryson DeChambeau, the newly crowned NCAA champion from Clovis, Calif., rallied to post 72 after three quick bogeys.

Results For Southern Amateur Golf Championship
1FLTaylor FunkPonte Vedra, FL120070-65-69-69=273
T2FLTaylor HancockClearwater, FL90070-69-68-67=274
T2LABen SuarezSulphur, LA90071-66-68-69=274
T4SCMatt NeSmithNorth Augusta, SC70069-71-66-69=275
T4CABryson DeChambeauClovis, CA70072-68-67-68=275

View full results for Southern Amateur Golf Championship

ABOUT THE Southern Amateur

The Southern Amateur, which dates back to 1902, is one of two competitions held by the Southern Golf Association. (The other is the Southern Junior.) Its champions roster is like a who’s who’s of competitive golf. (And the same could be said of the standing of its host clubs.) Leading this group is Robert T. (Bobby) Jones, Jr., who was the Southern Amateur Champion in 1917, 1920, and 1922. Others who have won or finished in a challenging position and gone on to national and/or international prominence include Tommy Barnes, Dale Morey, Don January, Gay Brewer, Doug Sanders, Billy Joe Patton, Lew Oehmig, Hubert Green, Downing Gray, Marvin (Vinny) Giles, Lanny Wadkins, Steve Melnyk, Tom Kite, John Mahaffey, Ben Crenshaw, Gary Koch, Bill Rogers, Gil Morgan, Danny Edwards, Andy Bean, Vance Haefner, Jerry Pate, Chip Beck, David Edwards, Jay Sigel, Bob Tway, Mark Brooks, Gene Sauers, Davis Love, Justin Leonard and more recently PGA Tour standouts Webb Simpson and Kyle Stanley, who won twice each between 2005 and 2008 in alternate years.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube