James Clark goes bogey-free through 36 holes to lead at Eastern Amateur
James Clark (GT Athletics)
James Clark (GT Athletics)

PORTSMOUTH, Va. (July 10, 2015) – The second round of the Eastern Amateur saw higher scores than the first day, with steady winds and thick rough to blame.

Georgia Tech sophomore James Clark, however, found the conditions very manageable. Clark, from Columbus, Ga., posted a bogey-free 64 (6-under) that included four birdies on the front nine (his final nine). Clark hasn’t made a bogey thus far and sits at 8-under total, two shots clear of 2nd place.

First round leader Colton Yates started off two-under par through his first nine holes (back nine) but an errant tee shot and a penalty stroke on the ninth green led to a 2-over back nine and a round of even-par 70. Yates is in solo second place and is trailed by Auburn commit Jacob Solomon and Akron University’s J.B. Williams who are at 5-under total.

Solomon, Yates, and Clark will tee off in the final group tomorrow at 12:20 local time. With only 36 holes left to decide a champion, the pressure will be on those close to the lead starting Saturday.

Results For Eastern Amateur Golf Tournament
1GAJames ClarkColumbus, GA50068-64-66=198
2NYDaniel YustinEast Amherst, NY40069-67-62=198
3VAAdam HortonChesapeake, VA30068-69-64=201
4FLAndrew AlligoodSaint Johns, FL30067-71-64=202
5PAChristopher CrawfordBensalem, PA30066-70-68=204

View full results for Eastern Amateur Golf Tournament

ABOUT THE Eastern Amateur

The Eastern Amateur is a 72 hole stroke play event that perennially attracts a top-drawer field. The tournament has been played -- with the exception of 1977 and 1999 -- at Elizabeth Manor Golf and Country Club. Elizabeth Manor is a par 70 Dick Wilson design in Portsmouth, Virginia.

The impressive list of winners includes U.S. Open winners Curtis Strange, Ben Crenshaw, Andy Bean, Hubert Green, Jim Furyk and Steve Jones. Other notables who have played in the Eastern Amateur are Lanny Wadkins, Arron Oberholser, Steve Marino, Scott Hoch, Clarence Rose, Gary Koch, Bob Tway, John Rollins, Fred Funk, Carl Petterson, Chip Beck, Jim Simons, Ben Crenshaw, Steve Melnyk, Andy Bean and Steve Liebler. Liebler won the who the Eastern in three different decades and is the only golfer to have ever qualified for the USGA Junior, USGA Amateur, USGA Open, USGA Public Links, USGA Senior Open and USGA Senior Amateur as well as representing his state in the USGA Team competition.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube