Illinois State Amateur Championship

LAGRANGE, IL (August 17, 2006) -- Grube's 11-stroke win is the largest margin of victory in the Illinois State Amateur since the event went to stoke play in 1963. Rich Dukelow last won by 9-shots in the 2001 State Am at Aldeen Golf Club.

Grube's 10-under par, 274 finish, is just 3-shots shy of Jerry Haas' 1982 Illinois State Am record lowest winning score under par, 13-under.

Haas, playing in the 2006 PGA Championship, won the State Am at Mt. Hawley Country Club in Peoria (par 288). Today, Haas played with brother, Jay in the PGA at Medinah.

Grube, the 2006 Pac-10 Co-Player of the Year who plays for Stanford, posted a 4-under par, 67 in the final round. He was the only player to finish the championship under par.

Two-time State Am champ Todd Mitchell (2002, 2003) of Bloomington finished in second place at 1-over par, 285. Through 54 holes, Grube had a 7-shot lead ahead of Mitchell who was even-par, 213 through three rounds. Mitchell posted even par, 71 in the final two rounds today.

Finishing in third place was Brad Benjamin (Rockford) at 2-over, 286. In the Western Junior earlier this month, Benjamin, who plays at University of Memphis tied for 15th place. Anthony Inburgia (Effingham) took fourth place with a 5-over, 289.

During Grube’s first State Am experience in 2004 at Stone Creek Golf Club in Urbana, he finished second after a playoff with T.C. Ford. The three-hole total score playoff ended with Ford, 10 and Grube, 11.

Grube’s name now appears on the State Am trophy along with his coach, Gary Pinns (1977, Rockford Country Club). Grube will be a junior a Stanford. As a sophomore, he won individual honors at the 2006 Western Intercollegiate and in his freshman year, finished first at the NCAA West Region Championship.

An accomplished player, Grube’s spoils as State Am champ may put him on the list of past champs that have gone on to play professionally. Those players include Roy Biancalana (1983), Erik Ciotti (1997), Rich Dukelow (2001), Jim Jamieson (1967), Gary Hallberg (1978, 1979), Mark Hensby (1994), David Ogrin (1980), D.A. Points (1995, 1998, 1999) and Robert Zender (1967, 1970, 1971).

This year’s top 15 players and ties receive exemptions into the 2007 Illinois State Amateur at Ironhorse Golf Club in Tuscola. Cantigny Golf in Wheaton will host the 2008 State Am.

For complete results, click on the tournament link above.

ABOUT THE Illinois State Amateur

Must be a resident of the state of Illinois and advance through an 18-hole qualifier prior to the event. Format is 72-holes of stroke play over three days. The low 35 after round 2 will advance to the 36-hole final day.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube