Defending champion falls at Colorado Match Play
Connor Klein
Connor Klein
AURORA, Colo. — Connor Klein of Lone Tree Golf Club assured Wednesday that the Colorado Match Play Championship won't have its first back-to-back winner since 1990-91.

Klein, who helped lead South Mountain (Ariz.) Community College to the 2015 national junior college Division II title, defeated defending champion Cody Kent of The Club at Ravenna 3 and 2 in Wednesday's round of 16 at CommonGround Golf Course in Aurora.

Klein (left) won the first three holes and was 5 up through 11 en route to his second victory of the day.

The Match Play, being contested for the 115th consecutive year, is guaranteed to have a first-time champion as the only other past winner left playing on Wednesday was ousted. Gus Lundquist of Colorado Golf Club, a former 5A state high school champion, beat 2004 Match Play winner Steve Irwin of Lakewood Country Club 3 and 1, also in the round of 16.

Among the others who advanced to Thursday's quarterfinals were 2014 CGA Stroke Play runner-up Nick Nosewicz of Meadow Hills Golf Course, the stroke-play medalist this week, and last year's CGA Match Play runner-up, Jacob Allenback of Walking Stick Golf Course.

Both the quarterfinals and the semifinals are scheduled for Thursday, while the 36-hole final is set for Friday.

View results for Colorado Match Play Golf Championship

ABOUT THE Colorado Match Play

Must be an active member of the Colorado Golf Association. The first round is an 18-hole stroke play qualifier. The low 63 qualifiers advance to match play. If entered, the defending champion will be the number one seed, and does not need to qualify. 32 players will not advance. No refund for non-qualifiers. All play is at scratch.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube