2015 Trans-Miss Senior Preview: Return to Brook Hollow
19 May 2015
by Texas Golf Association

see also: Eldorado Country Club

(Brook Hollow Golf Club photo)
(Brook Hollow Golf Club photo)
DALLAS, Texas — In the 114-year history of the Trans- Mississippi Golf Association, no club has been more supportive of its mission than Brook Hollow Golf Club. The Trans- Miss Senior Championship returns May 18-21 to the historic A.W. Tillinghast-designed parkland course, which marks the 11th time Brook Hollow GC has played host to a Trans-Miss event.

The 2015 Trans-Miss Senior, an individual stroke play championship, is scheduled for 54 holes for the Senior Division (ages 55-64) and Super Senior Division (ages 65-69). The Legends Division (70 years and older) will play 36 holes. Each division will play from separate tees with three individual champions crowned. The Seniors will play Brook Hollow from about 6,700 yards; the Super Seniors from about 6,500 yards and the Legends will play from about 6,200 yards.

Longtime head professional Simon Buckle said he and his membership are excited to once again host a major amateur event. Last year, the club played host to the 105th Texas Amateur.

“Brook Hollow has a rich tradition of supporting amateur golf,” Buckle said. “The club’s membership consists of several former USGA Executive Committee members, Texas Golf Hall of Fame inductees and champions of several major amateur events, including the 2004 USGA Senior Women's Amateur Championship and 2011 Men's Crump Cup Invitational.”

The Trans-Miss last came to Brook Hollow in 2011. The Trans-Miss Senior Championship at that time was played as match play, and Portland’s Chris Maletis defeated Robert Polk from Parker, Colo., 2 and 1, the finals. Maletis is back in the field this year, as are 2013 champion Corky Nelson and nine of the top 15 finishers at the 2014 Trans-Miss Senior Championship.

Over the years, Brook Hollow has produced popular champions such as PGA Tour major champion Bob Tway, who won the 1976 Trans- Miss Championship, and Ben Crenshaw, a two-time Masters champion and member of the World Golf Hall of Fame. Crenshaw won the 1972 Trans-Miss Championship at Brook Hollow. Texas Golf Hall of Fame member Don Addington, a member at Brook Hollow and father of Trans-Miss GA Executive Director Rob Addington, finished second to L.M. Crannel Jr. at the 1951 Trans-Miss Championship, also played at Brook Hollow.

“Amateur golf provides a competitive stage at the premier level to many of our current members,” Buckle said. “Hosting events such as the Trans-Mississippi Senior Championship provides us the opportunity to give back to the Amateur golf stage; the purest form of the game.”

Designed by Tillinghast in 1920 just six miles from downtown Dallas, Brook Hollow promises to challenge a field that includes top amateurs from 17 U.S. states. The classic track features tree-lined fairways with numerous doglegs and subtle movements that place a premium on driver accuracy. Tripp Davis and Associates in 2012 completed a full restoration of Tillinghast’s design. The job included reestablishing 18 bunkers that had been lost over the course’s lifetime. Davis also moved 16 bunkers to restore Tillinghast’s original angles into greens.

“The course will play ‘sneaky long’ compared to previous years,” Buckle said. “The restoration forces players to play the doglegs as designed and not having the ability to challenge carry distances that additional bunkers and tee placements have provided. Our Director of Grounds, Ken Small, is excited to be hosting another major amateur championship. I have no doubt Ken will have the course in a championship condition that rivals any championship around the country."
ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Senior

Entrants must be at least 55 years or older on or before the first day of the tournament, have a USGA Handicap Index (or equivalent) not exceeding 4.0 in the Championship Division (8.0 in the Super Senior Division) and be a member of Trans-Mississippi Golf Association member club (membership requirement is waived for those entrants receiving a special invitation from the Committee).

The championship will be 54-holes stroke play with two divisions: Championship – age 55 & older and Super Senior – age 65 & older.

View Complete Tournament Information

Results For Trans-Mississippi Senior Championship Golf Tournament
Place  PtsScores
1AZJeff NewScottsdale, AZ70069-76-74=219
2KSBryan NortonMission Hills, KS42076-73-73=222
3TXBob KearneyHouston, TX21074-74-75=223
T4TXChuck PalmerDallas, TX21077-74-73=224
T4AZMurphy MitchellScottsdale, AZ21071-76-77=224

View full results for Trans-Mississippi Senior Championship Golf Tournament

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011