Bradley Neil, Sam Horsfield highlight GB&I Walker Cup practice squad
Bradley Neil
Bradley Neil

The R&A has named an initial 20-man practice squad for potential selection to the Great Britain & Ireland Walker Cup team later this year. That practice squad eventually will be whittled down to 10 men who will face the U.S. team at Royal Lytham & St. Annes on Sept. 12-13.

Amateur champion Bradley Neil headlines the group. Gran Forrest, who won the 2014 St. Andrews Links Trophy, and Jamie Savage, the Irish Open Amateur Stroke Play champion, also were selected. Sam Horsfield, a top junior player born in England but based in the U.S., also made the team.

RELATED: Sixteen U.S. players accept invite to Walker Cup practice session

Only Irishman Gavin Moynihan returns from the 2013 GB&I squad.

“We have selected a strong squad of players, and they will all know that they are in contention for a place on the team and it is up to them to perform this season,” captain Nigel Edwards said. Edwards also captained the GB&I team in 2013 and 2011.

Edwards made it clear that players not selected to the practice squad still can play their way onto the team throughout the year. These 20 men will practice together July 21-22 at Royal Lytham & St. Annes and also will meet before the Lytham Trophy in May.

The complete practice squad (with home club) listed below:

Tomasz Anderson (Brocket Hall)
Gary Hurley (West Waterford)
David Boote (Walton Heath)
Nick Marsh (Huddersfield)
Daniel Brown (Bedale)
Jack McDonald (Kilmarnock (Barassie)
Adam Chapman (Windermere)
Gavin Moynihan (The Island)
Ashley Chesters (Hawkstone Park) Jimmy Mullen (Royal North Devon)
Paul Dunne (Greystones)
Bradley Neil (Blairgowrie)
Grant Forrest (Craigielaw)
Graeme Robertson (Glenbervie)
Sam Horsfield (Davenport, Fla.)
Jamie Savage (Cawder)
Paul Howard (Southport & Ainsdale)
Cormac Sharvin (Ardglass)
Jack Hume (Naas)
Ben Stow (Rushmore)

ABOUT THE The Walker Cup

The Walker Cup Match is a biennial 10-man amateur team competition between the USA and a team composed of players from Great Britain and Ireland and selected by The R&A. It is played over two days with 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.

The first United States Walker Cup Team, which in 1922 defeated the GB&I side, 8-4, at the National Golf Links of America, is considered among the best teams ever and included Francis Ouimet, Bob Jones, Charles “Chick” Evans and Jess Sweetser. Many of the game’s greatest players have taken part in Walker Cup competition, including U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth for the USA and Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose for Great Britain and Ireland.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube