Matt Willmott wins by six at Arkansas Club Champion Championship
Matt Willmott
Matt Willmott

HOT SPRINGS, Ark. (Nov. 10, 2014) — With rounds of 71 and 72 at Hot Springs Country Club, Matt Willmott claimed the men's title at the Arkansas Club Champion Championship by six shots, defeating first-round leader James Cox.

Cox opened the event with a 70 to lead Willmott by one, but fell behind with a 79 on Sunday, though still finishing alone in second place.

Neil Gordon tied for third at 150, though he too was only two shots back on Saturday after a 72. Richard Hall tied for third place with Gordon, shooting 73-77.

In the senior division, Fred Stamey edged Thomas Coleman by a stroke, shooting 76-75 to win the title. Bruce Sundquist led with 72 after one round but a 84 on Sunday pushed him back into fifth place.

Nora Phillips claimed the women's title by three shots over Julie Oxendine with rounds of 74 and 76. Oxendine posted 75 and 78 to take second by seven shots.

And rounding out the tournament, Katie Speir was victorious by eight shots in the senior women's division. Her opening-round 74 got her started with a six-shot advantage after Saturday's round before she finished of the rout with 81 on Sunday.

ABOUT THE Arkansas Club Champion Championship

Must be a resident of Arkansas, and a member of the Arkansas State Golf Association.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube