PNGA Amateur: 48-year-old Green Wins Title
15 Jul 2006
see also: Pacific Northwest Amateur Championship, The Home Course


Vancouver, British Columbia (Saturday, July 15, 2006) -- Danny Green of Jackson, Tenn. defeated Erik Olson of Newcastle, Wash, 9 and 7 in the 36-hole final match at the 105th PNGA Men's Amateur Championship played at Shaughnessy Golf and Country Club in Vancouver B.C.

Danny Green, the 2001 U.S. Walker Cup Team member and 1999 U.S. Mid-Amateur champion played the first eighteen holes of the match at an astonishing 6-under par, which included a bogie. His seven birdies were on holes #3, #6, #8, #10, #14, #15, #18. After eighteen holes of play, Green was 6 up on University of Washington golfer, Erik Olson. If this was a stroke play event, Green would have come within one stroke of the competitive course record of 6-under par 64. PGA Tour player Stephen Ames carded a 63 in the Bell Canadian Open last year.

In the second half of the match, Green continued his domination making birdie on the 20th hole to go 7 up. The match never got better for Olson. Olson had one glimpse at a come back when he made birdie on the 22nd hole, but Green turned up the heat again and won holes 25, 27 and 29 to close the match early.

Green, at the age of 48, is the oldest player in the last half century to win the PNGA Men's Amateur, and until confirmed by PNGA historians, may be the oldest player in the 105 years of this championship. Green, a Presidential Invite, is known as one of the best career amateurs in the United States. His other accomplishments include, 3-time Tennessee Amateur champion, 2001 U.S. Public Links finalist, 1989 U.S. Amateur finalist and 4-time Tennessee Mid-Amateur champion. He has played in The Masters twice, missing the cut by one stroke in 2000.

Some of the past champions of this event include Tiger Woods (1994), Ben Crane (1997), Jeff Quinney (1998), and Nick Flanagan (2003). In the last 12 years, three players that have won this championship have gone on to win the U.S. Amateur Championship (Tiger Woods, Jeff Quinney and Nick Flanagan). a.m. from the first tee.


Danny Green, Jackson, Tenn. (148) def Erik Olson, Newcastle, Wash. (145), 8 and 7

Results For Pacific Northwest Amateur Championship
WinTNDanny GreenJackson, TN500
Runner-upWAErik OlsonBellevue, WA400
SemifinalsWAShane PranteOlympia, WA300
SemifinalsNew ZealandRiki KauikaNew Zealand300
QuarterfinalsNVBrady ExberLas Vegas, NV200

View full results for Pacific Northwest Amateur Championship


First held in 1899, the Pacific Northwest Men’s Amateur is one of the country’s longest running amateur championships. Held annually at world-class courses throughout the Pacific Northwest, this championship is played in the same format as the U.S. Amateur and features an impressive list of past champions that include; Nick Flanagan, Ben Crane, Jeff Quinney, Bill Sander, and Tiger Woods. Eligibility is open to members of the Pacific Northwest Golf Association and top amateurs throughout the world invited via Presidential Invitation. Each year’s champion earns a hosted exemption in to the Pacific Coast Amateur and Sahalee Players Championship.

The Championship will be conducted in two stages:

Stroke Play – All players must complete the 36-hole stroke play qualifying in order to determine the 64 players who will advance to match play. In the event of a tie for the final qualifying spot(s), a sudden- death playoff will be used to determine the qualifiers. In the event of a tie for the Qualifying Medalist, a sudden-death playoff will commence.

Match Play – The General Numerical Draw will be in effect. Single elimination match play. 36-hole Championship Final Match. All other matches are 18 holes.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube