Nosewicz leads by one entering final round at Colorado Stroke Play
LAKEWOOD, CO (August 9, 2014) — With his third consecutive sub-par round at Lakewood Country Club, Nick Nosewicz of Meadow Hills Golf Course grabbed the lead after Saturday's third round of the 78th Colorado Stroke Play Championship.

Nosewicz made six birdies on Saturday -- including three in a row starting on No. 12 -- en route to a 3-under-par 67. That left him at 7-under 203 going into Sunday's final round.

Two past winners of the CGA Match Play, David Oraee of Colorado National Golf Club (2013) and Steve Irwin of Lakewood CC (2004), are Nosewicz's closest pursuers after three days. Oraee, a University of Colorado golfer, sits at 204 after his third straight 68, this one including birdies on the final two holes and an eagle on the par-5 13th. Irwin, a former CU golfer attempting to claim the Stroke Play title at his home course, posted Saturday's best round, a 4-under 66, which leaves him at 205. Irwin carded five birdies, with three consecutive from No. 13-15, and one bogey on day 3.

Colorado State University golfer Jimmy Makloski of Pueblo Country Club and Braden Baer of The Ranch Country Club share fourth place at 206 after matching 69s on Saturday.

In all, six players go into the final round within five strokes of Nosewicz.

Eric Hallberg of Colorado Golf Club, who led after a 64 on Friday, didn't make a birdie on Saturday and struggled to a 78. That dropped him to 16th place at 213.

Nosewicz, Oraee and Irwin will tee off for Sunday's final round at 9:30 a.m.

ABOUT THE Colorado Amateur Championship

72 holes of stroke play. A 36-hole cut will be made to the low 40 players and ties. The CGA Amateur Championship is a walking only event. Players may carry their bag, use a pull cart, or use a caddie. Non-exempt players must pre-qualify.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube