PNGA Men's Amateur: Medalist, No. 2 Seed Advance

VANCOUVER, B.C., CANADA (Wednesday, July 12) -- Stroke play medalist and number one seed, Adam Hadwin from Abbotsford, B.C., and number two seed, Rafael Lee from Burnaby B.C both won their first matches at the 105th PNGA Men's Amateur Championship, being played at the par-70, 6960-yard Shaughnessy Golf and Country Club in Vancouver B.C.

Hadwin just finished his freshman year at the University of Louisville where he appeared in five events and finished fifth on the team with a 74.07 stroke average. He led the team with seven rounds under par. Lee was the 2004 RCGA Juvenile champion, from Marine Drive Golf Club. Both players are natives of Canada.

Shaughnessy was the site of the PGA Tour's 2005 Bell Canadian Open. The course for the membership is usually played at par 73, but the Men's Amateur is playing the same yardage and par that the Bell Canadian Open played, with the typical par 5 holes, #1, #5 and #11 played as par-4's.

Matches continue on Thursday with the round of 32 starting at 7:30 a.m. from the first tee. Winners will advance to the afternoon round of 16 starting from the first tee at 12:30 p.m.

Some of the past champions of this event include Tiger Woods (1994), Ben Crane (1997), Jeff Quinney (1998), and Nick Flanagan (2003). In the last 12 years, three players that have won this championship have gone on to win the U.S. Amateur Championship (Tiger Woods, Jeff Quinney and Nick Flanagan).

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011