Top-seed Evans falls at English Amateur
Ryan Evans
Ryan Evans

Story by England Golf

LINCOLNSHIRE, England (July 31, 2014)— Reputations counted for little on day four of the English Amateur, supported by abacus, at Saunton with three of the four surviving full internationals departing as those with lesser pedigree seized their chance to grab the spotlight.

None more so than Sean Blinkhorn, who ended Ryan Evans’ hopes with a 2 and 1 win. “This is a feather in my cap,” he said. “Ryan is one of the top lads in the England team and to his credit he complimented me on my game. “I failed to qualify narrowly last year at Frilford Heath and I just came here to see what I could do. I just wanted to qualify this time.”

Evans, who got out of jail in his morning match with Tom Gandy on the 19th after almost losing his ball when one down playing 18, said: “I played better than this morning but anything I did Sean did better. He didn’t let me in but I didn’t hole enough.”

Still suffering from a stomach upset after eating something earlier in the week which didn’t agree with him, added: “I’m disappointed but I don’t feel 100 per cent. This could have been my week but I’ve not holed out enough.”

Jordan Smith went the same way even though Jack Cardy needed an extra hole to make the quarter finals despite trailing two down with four to play.

For more, please continue reading at EnglandGolf.com.

Results For English Amateur Golf Championship
WinEnglandNicholas MarshEngland700
Runner-upEnglandScott GregoryEngland500
SemifinalsEnglandJack CardyEngland400
SemifinalsEnglandOscar Granstrom-LiveseyEngland400
QuarterfinalsEnglandSean BlinkhornEngland300

View full results for English Amateur Golf Championship

ABOUT THE English Amateur

The English Amateur was played in its inaugural year of 1925 at Hoylake when local golfer T Froes Ellison captured the title. He successfully defended the following year at Walton Heath, a feat achieved by only six others: Frank Pennink, Alan Thirlwell, Michael Bonallack, Harry Ashby, Mark Foster, and Paul Casey. Sir Nick Faldo is the most famous to have won the event as the six-time major champion won the 1975 tournament at Royal Lytham & St. Annes.

The tournament consists of two stroke play rounds, after which the top 64 players will advance to the match play rounds, culminating in a 36-hole final between two finalists.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube