Sahalee Players: Stanley eagles way to victory

Kyle Stanley of Gig Harbor, Wash survived a four-way sudden death playoff by making two eagles to win the 13th Sahalee Players Championship.

Kyle Stanley, Jon McLean, Derek Berg and Dustin Johnson all finished the championship at 3-under par 285 to force a four-way sudden death playoff.

The first hole of the playoff was played on the 533 yard par 5, #18 where Stanley and McLean both made amazing eagles to force the playoff to the next hole. Stanley and McLean both made par on the second hole of the playoff which was played on the 215 yard par 3, #17 surrounded by water, which ranked as the hardest hole of the day, with a 3.4 scoring average. Stanley and McLean went back to the par 5 #18, in which Stanley drained a 12-foot putt for another eagle to win. He was 4-under par in the three holes of the playoff.

In the 213 rounds played on Sahalee Country Club this week, there were only three eagles made on hole #18. In the playoff, there were three eagles made on hole #18.

Stanley, a 2005 AJGA All-America First Team member, who will attend Clemson University in the fall, carded a final round 1-under par 71. He was one of only seven players to score under par in the final round. Stanley, at the age of 17, is the youngest player to win the Sahalee Players Championship. He joins an impressive list of past champions that include, 2004 champion, Ryan Moore (PGA Tour Player), 1996 champion, Jason Gore (PGA Tour Player), and 1997 champion, Arron Oberholser (PGA Tour Player).

To view complete results, click the link at the top of this page and follow the tab for 'results' - amateurgolf.com Premium Membership requested.

ABOUT THE Sahalee Players Championship

Inaugurated in 1992, the Sahalee Players Championship (SPC) at its inception strove to annually showcase the best amateur golfers in the Pacific Northwest. Past champions include Kyle Stanley, Casey Martin, Peter Uihlein, Nick Taylor, Daniel Summerhays, Ryan Moore, Chris Williams, Arron Oberholser and Jason Gore. In addition to the annual Sahalee Players Championship, the Ted Robinson- designed course has also tested the world’s best when it hosted the 2010 U.S. Senior Open, which was won by Bernhard Langer; the 1998 PGA Championship, won by Vijay Singh and the 2002 World Golf Championships-NEC Invitational, won by Craig Parry. The course opened for play in the late 1960s. The name Sahalee -- "High Heavenly Ground" in the language of the native Chinook -- was chosen to reflect the Northwest's heritage and tradition.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube