Richardson, Orr win Florida Four-Ball
ORLANDO, Fla. (July 13, 2014) -- The team of Conor Richardson and Ryan Orr capture the 65th Florida State Four-Ball Championship at Grand Cypress Golf Club in Orlando, on July 12-13. Conor Richardson, of West Palm Beach, and Ryan Orr, of Belleair, posted a tournament total of 17-under par 127 to win their first State Championship by one stroke. Playing the New Course on Saturday, Richardson and Orr would make nine birdies and no bogeys for their round of 63. Even with a fantastic round on Saturday, the pair would find themselves two shots back entering the final round. Playing the Noth/South Course on Sunday, Richardson and Orr got off to a hot start with birdies on 1, 2, 5, and 6 to turn at 32. The University of Florida college teammates continued their stellar play on the back nine with birdies on 10, 11, 15 and 16 for their round of 64. This victory has also earned the pair an exemption for the next three years into the Four-Ball Championship.

The duo from Jacksonville, Dillon Woods and Colin Monagle, finished alone in second place after rounds of 61-67 for a tournament total of 16-under par 128. Two teams finished tied for third place including: Jimmy Jones of Tampa, and the 2014 Boys’ Junior Champion, John Coultas, of Valrico and the team of Chip Brooke, of Bartow and Marc Dull, from Winter Haven. The shot of the tournament came on Sunday where Cody Christensen, of Windermere, made a hole in one on the par-3 8th hole playing 184 yards.

In four-ball stroke play, two competitors play as partners, each playing their own ball. The lower score of the partners is the score for the hole.

ABOUT THE Florida Four-Ball

Since 1963, teams of two play in the Four-Ball Championship of 36 holes of stroke play. Non exempt teams must first qualify at one of nine sites across the state. Entrants must both be members of the FSGA.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube