North & South Amateur: Seger takes early lead
VILLAGE OF PINEHURST, N.C. (July 1, 2014) -- Rising Indiana University golfer Will Seger shot a red-hot 6-under 65 Tuesday at Pinehurst No. 8 and leads the loaded field at the 114th North & South Amateur.

After one round of play, Seger sits three shots up on USC's Rico Hoey, who recently competed on Team USA at the Palmer Cup and Ball State's McCormick Clouser, a transfer from Michigan State.

Seger had only one bogey on an otherwise flawless day. Teeing of the 10th, he went out in 3-under 32 before recording birdies on his last three holes to close at 6-under.

Belmont's Ashton Van Horne and TCU's Chelso Barrett both shot 2-under 69 and sit four shots back and tied for fourth place.

A group of four players, including rising Georgia Tech freshman and California native Christopher Petefish, is just five back at 1-under after Round 1.

Other notable players in the top half of the North & South leaderboard after Tuesday's action include: Georgia's Michael Cromie (E, T11), defending champion Andrew Dorn (1-over, T16), recent Texas State Amateur champ Will Zalatoris (1-over, T16), Monroe champ Taylor Pendrith of Kent State (2-over, T29), 2012 U.S. Mid-Am runner-up Garrett Rank (2-over, T29) and Jones Cup winner Corey Conners (3-over, T42).

The prestigious North & South Amateur will move to match play following 54 holes of stroke-play qualifying. The top 16 finishers after Thursday's round will advance. The field will also be cut after Wednesday's second round with the low 60 players and ties moving on.

For a full look at the leaderboard, follow the link below.

Results For North & South Men's Amateur Golf Championship
WinNCMichael CromieCary, NC1000
Runner-upCanadaCorey ConnersCanada700
SemifinalsILHarley AbramsEvanston, IL500
SemifinalsCanadaBlair HamiltonCanada500
QuarterfinalsINWill SegerJasper, IN400

View full results for North & South Men's Amateur Golf Championship

ABOUT THE North & South Amateur

The North & South Amateur Championship is the longest consecutively run amateur tournament in the United States. Its past winners list includes names like Walter Travis, Francis Ouimet, Billy Joe Patton, Jack Nicklaus and Curtis Strange. The field is made up of invited players as well as open applications. Two rounds of stroke play are followed by five rounds of match play (32 qualifiers) to determine the Champion. All stroke & match play rounds are contested on Pinehurst No. 2.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube