Stewart Jolly wins Northeast Amateur
RUMFORD, R.I. (June 21, 2014) -- Stewart Jolly faced some high-level competition, but in the end, he put the finishing touches on an amazing wire-to-wire victory at the 2014 Northeast Amateur.

Jolly, from LSU, kept pace with his final group playing partner Jordan Niebrugge by shooting even par 34 on the front nine and maintaining the solid pace on the back nine.

It all added up for a final-round 71 and a two- shot victory at Wannamoisett Country Club.

It's the biggest win to date for Jolly, who helped the Tigers to the NCAA Championship semifinals and was named to the U.S. Palmer Cup squad.

Niebrugge, who plays at Oklahoma State and was a member of last year's U.S. Walker Cup team, finished with a 3- over 72 and in sole possession of second place.

Lee McCoy and Scott Scheffler made final- round moves to finish inside the Top 5.

McCoy, who plays at Georgia shot a second- straight 1-under 68 to close with a fury at Wannamoisett. Scheffler, the reigning U.S. Junior champ and soon-to-be Longhorn at the University of Texas, shot 69.

Chelso Barrett, a New England native who plays at TCU and Georgia Tech star Seth Reeves also tied for third.

Greensboro, N.C. resident Scott Harvey was the event's low mid- amateur. A member of the victorious U.S. Concession Cup squad, Harvey shot 73-69-70-68 to finish tied alongside Trevor Cone and Kurt Kitayama.

Grayson Murray, a 2013 U.S. Open participant, and South Carolina's Will Murphy, who recently won the Azalea Invitational and Sunnehanna Amateur titles, rounded out the top 10.

Results For Northeast Amateur Invitational Golf Tournament
1ALStewart JollyBirmingham, AL150067-67-69-71=274
2WIJordan NiebruggeMequon, WI100071-68-65-72=276
T3GALee McCoyClarkesville, GA70070-73-68-68=279
T3NHChelso BarrettKeene, NH70071-69-70-69=279
T3TXScottie SchefflerDallas, TX70073-67-70-69=279

View full results for Northeast Amateur Invitational Golf Tournament

ABOUT THE Northeast Amateur

The Northeast Amateur has a historic list of winners, including Ben Crenshaw, Dustin Johnson, Luke Donald, Scott Hoch, John Cook, Hal Sutton, and David Duval. It has been annually held at the Donald Ross-designed Wannamoisett Country Club since 1962. The event is limited to 90 elite players; there is a cut after 54 holes and the entire tournament is played in twosomes.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube