Oregon State Amateur: Match play underway
WOODBURN, Ore. (June 18, 2014) -- Day one of four full days of match play competition came to an end on Wednesday, as 32 men and 16 women advanced to the next round at the 105th Oregon Amateur Championship, held at the OGA Golf Course in Woodburn, Ore.

Following 48 total matches on Wednesday, the Championship now moves on to the next round. In the men’s bracket, the winners of the early matches being played tomorrow will move on and play another match in the afternoon. Those winners will advance to the quarterfinals, which will be played on Friday. The 16 women who advanced will play one match tomorrow, with both the quarterfinal and semifinal matches being played on Friday.

A total of seven matches (5 men, 2 women) went extra holes on Wednesday. The longest match of the day was between Clayton Madey (West Linn, Ore.) and Brent Pollock (Eugene, Ore.), who went 23 holes before Madey emerged victorious. Madey advanced and will play Drew Pairamore (Wilsonville, Ore.) on Thursday, who upset 2013 Oregon Public Links champion and ninth-seeded Alistair Docherty (Vancouver, Wash.) 5 and 3.

On the other side of the bracket, Nicklaus Baines (Portland, Ore.) defeated seventh-seeded Tim O’Neal (Vancouver, Wash.) 2 and 1. O’Neal is a past champion among OGA Championships, winning the 2011 Oregon Mid-Amateur Championship.

In all, seven of the 10 top seeds in the men’s bracket advanced to the next round. Medalist Zach Foushee (West Linn, Ore.) defeated Diego De La Torre (Brush Prairie, Wash.) 5 and 4, while second-seeded Thomas Lim (Moorpark, Calif.) advanced after defeating Bryce Ward (Portland, Ore.) 4 and 2. In one of the more anticipated matches on Thursday, Lim will play against Scott Hval (Portland, Ore.), who defeated Montana Frame (Reedsport, Ore.) in 19 holes in one of the last matches of the day. Lim finished as the runner up in last year’s Oregon Amateur, and Hval won the Championship in 1997.

A few more matches to watch out for tomorrow includes a matchup between Oregon and Oregon State golfers. Oregon State golfer and sixth-seed Brian Jung (Corvallis, Ore.) will play against University of Oregon player and 27th-seed Brandon Baumgarten (Granite Bay, Calif.). Also, fourth-seed Kevin Murphy (Rogue River, Ore.), who competes at Oregon State, will play 29th-seed Daniel Cheremnov (Hubbard, Ore.), who tied for medalist honors at the Quail Valley qualifier on May 31st.

In the women’s bracket, all top nine seeds advanced to the round of 16. Tenth-seed Lindsay Harmon (Lake Oswego, Ore.) fell to 23rd-seed Clare Dittemore (Roseburg, Ore.), 1 up.

In one of the more exciting matches of the day, third-seed Caroline Inglis (Eugene, Ore.) came back to defeat 30th-seed and 1999 Oregon Women’s Amateur champion Charisse Spada (Portland, Ore.) after 19 holes. Spada was three up after the front nine, but Inglis scored par on the 18th hole to even the match and force a 19th hole.

The top two seeds in the women’s bracket, defending champion Kendall Prince (Wilsonville, Ore.) and 2010 champion Monica Vaughn (Reedsport, Ore.) both advanced to the next round. In what should be a highly competitive match, fifth-seed Gigi Stoll (Portland, Ore.) plays University of Wisconsin golfer and 12-seed Aaren Ziegler (Canby, Ore.). In the eight seed-nine seed matchup, Oregon State golfer Ashlee Pickerell (Salem, Ore.) will play San Diego State-bound Haleigh Krause (Eugene, Ore.).

ABOUT THE Oregon Amateur

Entries are open to male amateur golfers with USGA Handicap indexes of 5.0 or less for men, and 15.0 or less for women, who are members in good standing of an OGA member club. For men, the low 64 finishers from the first two rounds of stroke play will advance to single elimination match play. For women, the low 32 finishers from the first two rounds of stroke play will advance to single elimination match play.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube