South Dakota (SDGA) Women's Amateur Championship

ABERDEEN, SD (June 18, 2006) -- Shannon Johnson of Sioux Falls parred the first hole of a playoff to win her fourth consecutive SDGA Women's Amateur Championship which concluded Sunday at Moccasin Creek Country Club.

Johnson, who beat Julie Jansa of Sioux Falls for the crown, joins Mrs. E.R. Doering of Parkston, Becky Larson of Watertown and Kris Tschetter of Sioux Falls as the only women to win four consecutive championships.

Johnson and Jansa finished the regulation 54 holes at 7-over-par 223. Jansa, the second-round leader at 4-over, birdied the final hole of regulation to force the playoff. On the extra hole, Jansa's second shot on the par-4 378-yard hole came up short while Johnson's second found the right greenside bunker. Johnson pitched to about two feet, while Jansa ran her third shot well past. Jansa missed her par attempt, before Johnson, who started the day one back, tapped in for the win.

Carley Roach of Brookings, the 2002 champion, was third at 225. First-round leader Kelly Endahl of Sioux Falls and Kelly Evans of Brookings tied for fourth (228), while Maggie Murphy of Sioux Falls was sixth (236).

Jill Murra of Sioux Falls won the First Flight (242) and Jackie Witlock of Aberdeen was the Seconn Flight winner (261).

For complete results, click on the tournament link above.

ABOUT THE South Dakota Women's Amateur

54 hole flighted stroke play championship. Must have an active GHIN at a South Dakota Golf Association member club.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube