Curtis Cup: European Team Announced
17 Jun 2006
see also: Curtis Cup, Quaker Ridge Golf Club


ST ANDREWS, SCOTLAND (June 17, 2006) -- The Curtis Cup team to play the U.S. at Bandon Dunes on 29 and 30 July was announced today, Saturday 17 June. Claire Coughlan is the only team member to have played in the 2004 Match at Formby.

Captain: Ada O’Sullivan

Manager: Fiona Norris


Claire Coughlan (26) member a Cork GC, played in 2004 Curtis Cup and 2005 Vagliano Trophy; runner-up in 2005 Ladies British Championship at Littleston; Irish Ladies’ Champion 1999 and Irish Stroke Play Champion 2003; second in qualifying for the 2006 Ladies’ British Championship but lost in the second round to Naomi Edwards.

Tara Delaney (20) member of Carlow GC, Ireland; 2004 and 2005 Irish Stroke Play Champion; 2004 Irish Girls’ Champion

Naomi Edwards (22), member at Ganton GC, Runner-up 2003 and 2006 English Championships; winner St Rule Trophy 2005; winner 2005 English Mid-Amateur Championship; lost in semi-final of 2006 Ladies’ British Championship.

Martina Gillen (24) member of Beaverstown GC, from Ballyjamesduff, Ireland; attended Kent State University, graduating in 2004 in business management. Vagliano Trophy team 2005; runner-up 2006 Irish Championship; 2000 Irish Girls’ Champion.

Breanne Loucks, (18) member of Wrexham GC. Runner-up 2003 and 2004 Welsh Girls’ Championship; third in 2006 Sherry Cup; beat Anna Nordqvist in Spanish Amateur.

Tricia Mangan, (32) member of Ennis GC; Irish Ladies’ Champion 2005 and 2006, Irish Order of Merit winner 2003 & 2005. Irish Intermediate Champion 1994 1996 and 1997; Vagliano Trophy 2003. Lost to Naomi Edwards in quarter-final of 2006 Ladies’ British Championship.

Kiran Matharu, (17) member of Cookridge Hall GC and lives in Chapel Allerton, Leeds. Winner 2006 English Ladies Championship; winner Faldo Series 2005; runner-up English Stroke Play 2005; runner-up Welsh Stroke Play 2005; member of English team that won the European Girls Team Championship.

Melissa Reid (18) Lives in Breadsall Village and is a member of Chevin GC. Winner of the Helen Holm (Scottish Stroke Play Championship) in 2006; 2006 English Girls’ Champion.


1. Heather Macrae (22) member of Dunblane New GC.

2. Krystle Caithness (17) member of St Regulus GC, St Andrews.

3. Florentyna Parker (16 ) Member of Gut Waldorf GC , but originally from Birkdale;

4. Felicity Johnson (18) member of Harborne GC

ABOUT THE Curtis Cup

Officially named "The Women's International Cup," the first Curtis Cup wasn't officially held until 1932. The biennial competition features the best female players from the United States of America pitted against a similar squad from Great Britain and Ireland. While it was hoped that many nations would eventually join the Match, the Curtis Cup has remained a two-sided competition.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube