2014 Southern Am: Entries open, qualifying set
Zachary Olsen
Zachary Olsen

BIRMINGHAM, AL (March 15, 2014) – Entries are now open for the 108th playing of the historic Southern Amateur Golf Championship, July 16- 19, at the prestigious and exclusive Honors Course outside Chattanooga, TN.

U.S. and international applicants with a USGA handicap index of 3.4 or less may enter online at www.SGAGOLF.com, where there is an entry form and details. Accepted entrants without an exempt spot in the final tournament field can choose to qualify at any one of 18 local qualifying sites. (See Q-schedule below.)

The Southern Am was last staged at The Honors Course in 2004, won by Australian Michael Sim. Reigning champion is Oklahoma State freshman Zach Olsen, who won at Houston’s Carlton Woods Club, thus earning the champion’s automatic invitation to play in the PGA Tour Arnold Palmer Invitation this week at Bay Hill Club, Orlando.

The SGA promotes amateur golf through its three national tournaments (including the Southern Junior and Southern States Four- Ball) and its National Am of the Month award.


Jun 2 – Oakwing GC, Alexandria LA
Jun 2 – Savannah GC, Savannah GA
Jun 3 – Dallas Athletic Club, Dallas TX
Jun 4 - CC of Virginia, Richmond VA
Jun 5 – U. of Texas GC, Austin, TX
Jun 9 – CC of Orlando, Orlando FL
Jun 10 – Prospect Bay CC, Grayson MD
Jun 12 – Lakeside CC, Houston TX
Jun 16 – Laurel Springs GC, Atlanta GA
Jun 17 – Olde Stone Club, Bowling Green KY
Jun 17 – Chenal CC, Little Rock AR
Jun 17 – The Dunes, Myrtle Beach SC
Jun 18 – Colonial CC, Memphis TN
Jun 24 – Cherokee CC, Knoxville TN
Jun 24 – Farmlinks Club, Sylacauga AL
Jun 24 – Mayacoo Lakes, West Palm Beach FL
Jun 25 – Myers Park CC, Charlotte NC
Jun 25 – Old Waverly Club, West Point MS
Jul 14 – Honors Course, Ooltewah, TN

Results For Southern Amateur Golf Championship
1FLM.J. MaguireSt. Petersburg, FL100069-72-72-71=284
T2FranceVictor PerezFrance70072-70-71-74=287
T2AustraliaGeoffrey DrakefordAustralia70068-74-70-75=287
T4CABeau HosslerMission Viejo, CA50070-68-70-80=288
T4ZimbabweScott VincentZimbabwe50072-72-74-70=288

View full results for Southern Amateur Golf Championship

ABOUT THE Southern Amateur

The Southern Amateur, which dates back to 1902, is one of two competitions held by the Southern Golf Association. (The other is the Southern Junior.) Its champions roster is like a who’s who’s of competitive golf. (And the same could be said of the standing of its host clubs.) Leading this group is Robert T. (Bobby) Jones, Jr., who was the Southern Amateur Champion in 1917, 1920, and 1922. Others who have won or finished in a challenging position and gone on to national and/or international prominence include Tommy Barnes, Dale Morey, Don January, Gay Brewer, Doug Sanders, Billy Joe Patton, Lew Oehmig, Hubert Green, Downing Gray, Marvin (Vinny) Giles, Lanny Wadkins, Steve Melnyk, Tom Kite, John Mahaffey, Ben Crenshaw, Gary Koch, Bill Rogers, Gil Morgan, Danny Edwards, Andy Bean, Vance Haefner, Jerry Pate, Chip Beck, David Edwards, Jay Sigel, Bob Tway, Mark Brooks, Gene Sauers, Davis Love, Justin Leonard and more recently PGA Tour standouts Webb Simpson and Kyle Stanley, who won twice each between 2005 and 2008 in alternate years.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube