Concession Cup: Meet the U.S. team
24 Feb 2014
by Benjamin Larsen of AmateurGolf.com

see also: Concession Cup Matches, The Concession Golf Club

BRADENTON, Fla. (Feb. 24, 2014) -- The two eight-man teams that will do battle at the inaugural Concession Cup were announced this past weekend.

Modeled after The Walker Cup, the event goes to celebrate the game's top mid-amateurs and seniors with selected players from the U.S. doing battle against the Great Britain & Ireland.

The Concession Golf Club was founded to commemorate the extraordinary gesture of sportsmanship that Jack Nicklaus made at the 1969 Ryder Cup at Royal Birkdale when he conceded a two-foot putt to Britain's Tony Jacklin to halve their match, which resulted in the first-ever tie in the history of the matches. The moment became known as "the concession."

Representing the U.S. at the inaugural event May 1-3 at The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla. will be:


Gene Elliot: From Des Moines, Iowa, Elliot won last year's Crump Cup and placed second at the Crane Cup. A regular in USGA events, he last reached match play at the 2011 U.S. Mid- Amateur.

Scott Harvey: The Greensboro, NC native has been quite busy the last few years. He logged Top 20s at last year's Porter Cup and Coleman Invitational. In 2012, Harvey was second at the Cardinal Amateur and Rice Planters.

Tim Jackson: Jackson, from Tennessee, was second at the Coleman Invitational in 2013 and won it in 2012. He reached the final 32 of the U.S. Mid- Amateur and remains one of the nation's most consistent mid-amateurs.

Trip Kuehne: Infamous for his decision to not follow his peers into the highest level of golf, the former Oklahoma State University All-American is remembered for his battle with Tiger Woods in the 1994 U.S. Amateur. His event schedule is limited these days, but can still play at the level that brought him to three Walker Cups, four U.S. Opens and the 2007 U.S. Mid-Amateur title.

Mike McCoy: The reigning U.S. Mid- Amateur champion, McCoy most recently has a tie for fourth at the Jones Cup Invitational. Last year, he also won the George C. Thomas and Coleman invitationals.

Gary Nicklaus: A former PGA Tour professional, Nicklaus will represent his father and family at the event that goes to honor is memorable act in the 1969 Ryder Cup. Nicklaus turned professional in 1991 after winning the Porter Cup but returned to the amateur ranks in 2007. In 2012, he qualified for the U.S. Amateur.

Nathan Smith: The four-time U.S. Mid-Amateur champion and two-time Walker Cup player is coming off another great year. Smith placed 18th at the Jones Cup, tied for 18th at the Sunnehanna and tied for 35th at the Northeast Amateur. He also won the clinching point in the United State's Walker Cup victory in September.

Todd White: The South Carolina school teacher earned one of the two mid-amateur slots on the 2013 U.S. Walker Cup squad and did so with great play throughout the year. He had Top 10s at the Northeast Amateur and Jones Cup a year after reaching the semifinals of the U.S. Mid-Amateur.

Super Seniors:

Jim Holtgrieve:
A two-time Walker Cup captain, the St. Louis native also played in three from 1979-1983. Holtgrieve wn the first U.S. Mid-Amateur in 1981 and finished as the runner-up at the 1983 British Amateur.

Robert Lewis: One of the game's most decorated amateurs, Lewis played on four Walker Cup teams and served as captain twice. He's won the Ohio Amateur, Northeast Amateur and Ohio Open as an amateur. The Great Britain and Ireland team will be represented by: James Bunch (Scotland), Robbie Cannon (Ireland), Matthew Clark (Scotland), Harry Diamond (Ireland), Peter Hedges (England), Ian Hutcheon (Scotland), Eoghan O’Connell (Ireland), Edward Richardson (England), Ben Westgate (Wales) and Martin Young (England).

ABOUT THE Concession Cup

Created by supporters of amateur golf, The Concession Cup is an event designed to celebrate the game through international competition while giving back to worthy causes. The event is a biennial team competition played between teams comprised of leading male Mid-Amateurs, Senior Amateurs and Super Senior Amateurs from the United States and Great Britain and Ireland.

The Concession Cup Committee will select the participating players through the following categories:
Six (6) Mid-Amateurs, age 25 to 54.
Six (6) Senior Amateurs, age 55 and older.
Two (2) Senior Amateurs, age 65 and older.

The competition is conducted over three days through the traditional team match-play formats of foursome, four-ball and singles. In honor of two of the greatest amateur competitors in the history of the game, a trophy has been commissioned in the names of United States amateur, Bill Campbell and British Amateur, Sir Michael Bonallack – the Campbell/Bonallack trophy will be presented to the winning team at the conclusion of the matches.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube