Australian Women's Am: So-Young medalist
SEATON, Australia (Jan. 15, 2014) -- Despite three suspensions of play over the opening two days, Korean So-Young Lee emerged as medalist following 36-hole qualifying at the 2014 Australian Women's Amateur Championships presented by Audi at The Grange Golf Club in Adelaide.

Play was suspended for 75 minutes on Wednesday afternoon as the apparent temperature at Adelaide Airport (the closest recording station) rose beyond 39 degrees.

A wind change shortly after allowed play to recommence as the temperature dropped. The 16 year-old Lee carded a second consecutive 69 to finish at 3-under par and finish the top qualifier by four strokes.

From 88 Country Club, south east of Seoul, Lee finished ahead of defending champion and Western Australian Minjee Lee who rebounded from her opening round 73 to finish with a 3-under par 69.

Victorian Su-Hyun Oh finished in a tie for third at 1-under par with Women's British Amateur runner-up Luna Sobron from Spain. Western Australian Jayde Panos closed in a tie for fifth place with South Australian and 2013 runner-up Jenny Lee and New South Wales's Shelly Shin at 2-over par. The top 32 women will now contest elimination Match Play with the first round taking place at 7.00am on Thursday with a shotgun start.

The Amateur Championships are Australia’s oldest golfing events, dating back to 1894. Past winners include Michael Clayton, Michael Campbell, Mathew Goggin, Brett Rumford, Kristie Smith, and Nikki Campbell, and with both champions receiving exemptions into the respective Australian Opens, they are the most prized titles in Australian amateur golf.

Results For Australian Women's Amateur Championship
WinAustraliaMinjee LeeAustralia1000
Runner-upAustraliaKaris DavidsonAustralia700
SemifinalsAustraliaJenny LeeAustralia500
SemifinalsSpainLuna SobronSpain500
QuarterfinalsNew ZealandChantelle CassidyNew Zealand400

View full results for Australian Women's Amateur Championship

ABOUT THE Australian Women's Amateur

The Australian Women's Amateur Championship is contested over 36-holes stroke play qualifying, with the leading 32 players progressing to elimination match play. It is open to players of all ages with an initial field size of 72 players.

It was first played in 1894 and past winners include touring professionals Nikki Campbell, Sarah Oh and Kristie Smith.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube