Texas Amateur Preview and Fact Sheet
06 Jun 2006
see also: Texas Amateur Championship, Whispering Pines Golf Club


To commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Texas Golf Association, the 2006 Texas Amateur, presented by Guaranty Bank, will be held from June 8-11 at Dallas Country Club, site of the first Amateur championship a century ago.

When the Association was established in February 1906, one of its primary objectives was to stage a “three-day tournament to decide the championship of Texas for men.” Dallas Country Club, one of the five founding members of the Association (the Country Clubs of Beaumont, Houston, San Antonio and Waco, or Huaco as it was then known, were the others), was chosen as the host site.

Fifty-six players were in the starting field one-hundred-years ago for the inaugural championship won by H.L. Edwards, who was not only a founder of the host club but also happened to be the first president of the newly established Association.

In all, the club has been host to the state’s most prestigious amateur championship seven times: 1906, 1912, 1915, 1921, 1949, 1956, and 2006.

Six former titleholders are in the starting field of 144-players, including defending champion Kevin Schultz of Richardson, Ryan Baca (2002-03), Bob Kearney (2001), Robert McKinney (1999), Chip Stewart (1992,1998), and 1974 winner Mark Witt of Colleyville, who earned his way in through one of the 19 qualifiers held across the state from April – May.

The championship format is 72-holes stoke play – it switched from match play in 1965 – and all contestants will play 18-holes on both Thursday, June 8, and Friday, June 9. After 36-holes, the field will be cut to the low 54 players and ties heading into the final two rounds on Saturday and Sunday.

For complete coverage of the Texas State Amateur, visit the TGA website at www.txga.org. Click here for live scoring of the tournament.

The Texas State Amateur is an amateurgolf.com Texas Amateur Rankings points event.


WINGING IT – Two players in the starting field qualified for the U.S. Open to be played from June 15 – 18 at Winged Foot Golf Club in Mamaroneck, NY. Both players qualified on Monday, June 5, at Lakeside Country Club in Houston. Baca had rounds of 67-69, while Posey fired 65-71 for an identical 136 total, claiming the only two spots available from that site. Baca withdrew from the Texas Amateur to head up to Winged Foot early, but Posey will compete for the State title before making his way up to New York for next week’s Open.

A “SCOT-ish” FEEL – The Highland Park Scots Golf Team of Dallas has won an incredible, record-setting 7 straight State UIL 4-A championships. Five members from those championship teams are in the field including two current players (Cody Gribble and Paul Haley) and three recent graduates (Charlie Holland, Scott Barton, and Ryan Posey).

HOME COURSE HEROES – It’s a tradition for the Texas Golf Association to award three (3) exemptions to the host club. On Sunday, June 4, Dallas Country Club held a one-day qualifier that saw members Joel Eastman, Bob Dickerson, and Dick Davis earn the final three spots in this year’s championship. They will join fellow members Sam Manning and Tim Gamso, who both qualified at Stonebridge CC (Dye) on April 24.

GAME OF A LIFETIME – Cody Gibble, a highly ranked junior player, is the youngest competitor in the field at age 15. Dallas Country Club’s own Dick Davis is the oldest at 71.

NUMBERS – A record 807 entries were received this year, including 130 that came in on the last day (March 29). Back in 1906, sixty applications were sent in for the inaugural Texas Amateur ($2 entry fee), with 56 players managing to make the journey to Dallas CC for the start of the championship.

SERIOUS HARDWARE – Including four past Amateur winners, there are 14 former and/or current champions in the field who have a total of 26 state titles, collectively.

EYES OF TEXAS – Mack Brown, Head Football Coach of the 2005 National Champion Texas Longhorns, is scheduled to be the guest speaker at the players banquet on Wednesday, June 7.

PAR AND YARDAGE – Dallas Country Club will play at 6,363 yards and par 35-35—70.

THE 2005 TEXAS AMATEUR CHAMPIONSHIP – In dramatic fashion, Kevin Shultz of Richardson birded the 72nd hole for a one-shot victory over Zack Reeves of Arlington at Barton Creek Resort (Fazio Canyons) in Austin.

ABOUT THE Texas Amateur

72 hole walking-only championship first played in 1909.

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers with a certified USGA Handicap Index of 8.4 or less. Please reference “TGA State Championship Eligibility” for further eligibility details. In addition to TGA State Eligibility guidelines: College players are eligible if they hold playing privileges through their college golf team at a club or course which currently belongs to the Texas Golf Association.

Format: 72 holes of Stroke Play. At the completion of 36 holes the field is cut to the low 50 and ties plus all players within 10 strokes of the lead.

18 Hole Qualifying: All players who are not exempt under the above categories must participate in a 18 hole sectional qualifier.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube