Gross, Velardi win Courville Memorial in playoff
NORWALK, CT (Sept. 9, 2013) — It took a playoff to determine the winner at the 17th Annual Courville Memorial.

Two teams, Aaron Gross and Steve Velardi and Lou Stone and Ben Day, tied at 133 after 36 holes and needs extra holes to decide a champion.

It was the duo of Gross/Velardi that prevailed at Shorehaven Golf Club, coming back from a one-stroke deficit after the first round.

Third place went to Jason Monroe and Jim Graham, who finished at 135.

ABOUT THE Jerry Courville, Sr. Memorial

Jerry Courville, Sr. was one of the best amateur players in Connecticut history. His accomplishments on the golf course include a Conn. Amateur championship, two Metroplitain (NY) Amateur championships, six MGA-IKE championships, two Conn. Senior Amateur Championships, a Conn. Open Championship, a MET (NY) Open Championship, and a Northeast Amateur Championship in 1964. Courville was elected to the Connecticut Golf Hall of Fame in 1975. Shorehaven Golf Club, Courville's home club, hosts this invitational event which features many of the best two-man teams within the CSGA and MGA competing for 36-holes in one day.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube