Players recall Walker Cup
The Walker Cup Match returns to its roots this year with the National Golf Links of America in Southampton, N.Y., hosting the biennial competition between the USA and Great Britain and Ireland. The National was the site for the inaugural competition in 1922 and the 44th playing will take place on the Charles Blair Macdonald masterpiece.

A total of 522 players – 264 Americans and 258 from GB&I – have participated in the Walker Cup and 17 more individuals (three golfers in this year’s Match have previous experience) will add their names to this illustrious fraternity this year at NGLA.

In the past several months, the USGA reached out to 35 Walker Cup alums to get their thoughts on what it meant to play in the Walker Cup as well as some personal memories. To see those comments, click on the appropriate name using the link below.

ABOUT THE The Walker Cup

The Walker Cup Match is a biennial 10-man amateur team competition between the USA and a team composed of players from Great Britain and Ireland and selected by The R&A. It is played over two days with 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.

The first United States Walker Cup Team, which in 1922 defeated the GB&I side, 8-4, at the National Golf Links of America, is considered among the best teams ever and included Francis Ouimet, Bob Jones, Charles “Chick” Evans and Jess Sweetser. Many of the game’s greatest players have taken part in Walker Cup competition, including U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth for the USA and Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose for Great Britain and Ireland.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube