Del Rio wins NCGA Zone Championship

MONTEREY, Calif. (Aug. 27, 2013) – The team with the low score on Tuesday came out on top at the 47th Annual NCGA Zone Championship, despite not having the low first round score. The four-man team of Dennis Culberston, Richard Deponte, Tim Speer and Chris Wells from Del Rio GCC mounted a mini-comeback having started the day alone in fourth place to be crowned 2013 NCGA Zone Champions. In a format that takes the two best net scores per hole of a four-man team, the Del Rio GCC team followed its first round of 125 at Spyglass Hill GC with an impressive final round score of 119 at Del Monte GC to finish with a 244, 44-under-par 36-hole total.

Del Rio GCC was the only team to break the 120 barrier over the two days and almost had an even more unfathomable feat, nearly going 36 holes without a single bogey. Having not made a single team net bogey during Monday’s round at Spyglass Hill, the Del Rio GCC team only made one bogey on Tuesday on its route to 119, 25-under-par. In addition to the limited mistakes, the quartet of golfers made four net double eagles, five net eagles and four net birdies for a scorecard filled with different shades of red.

Finishing in second place three strokes behind with a 36-hole score of 247, 41-under-par was Sacramento GC. The team featuring Larry Andreatta, Nathan Andreatta, Dave Marks and Jason Marks improved on its opening round of 124 at Spyglass Hill GC with a 123 at Del Monte GC. Playing with Del Rio GCC in the penultimate groups off Nos. 1 and 10, the Sacramento GC team moved up the leaderboard from third to second place thanks to a bogey-free round. The Andreattas and Marks teamed up to make seven net eagles and seven net birdies over their final 18 holes.

Taking third place after sharing the first round lead was the team from Stonetree GC. Bobby Aldridge, Joe Aldridge, William Hudson and Chris Tully followed its team score of 121 with a 127 for a 248, 40-under-par total. Things didn’t go quite as well for the Stonetree GC team having half as many eagle or better holes from Monday (eight) to Tuesday (four).

Fellow co-first round-leaders Dry Creek GC finished tied for fourth at 249, 40-under-par with Benbow GC. Dry Creek GC followed its 121 with a 128, while Benbow GC fired the second lowest round on Tuesday—short of only the champions—with a score of 120 to go along with its first round 129.

With the victory, Del Rio GCC adds a second Zone Championship to its collection, last winning the event in 1969 in the Third Annual NCGA Zone Championship. The 48th Annual NCGA Zone Championship is currently scheduled to take place August 25-26, 2014 at Del Monte GC and Spyglass Hill GC.

ABOUT THE NCGA Associate Club Championship

NCGA Associate Club members ONLY. Best two balls of four net. 18 hole local qualifying. 28 teams advance to the championship. Championship is 36 holes (18 holes per day) played both at Spyglass Hill and Poppy Hills.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube