Texas (TGA) 4-Ball: Starrs/Leachman Close it Out
21 May 2006
see also: Texas Four-Ball Championship, Maridoe Golf Club


Thanks for the Texas Golf Association for contributing to this report. For complete coverage of the TGA Four Ball, visit www.txga.org.

PLANO, TX (May 21, 2006)--Artie Starrs and David Leachman, both from Dallas, said they had played well throughout the 2006 TGA State Four-Ball Championship, but couldn’t get many putts to fall. The putts fell for them over the final nine holes during the final round at the King’s Course of Gleneagles Country Club in Plano. Starrs and Leachman birdied the first five holes on the back nine in route to a seven under par 65 and a two shot victory to claim the title.

“We finally made some putts on the back nine,” Starrs said. That included a lengthy par save on the 16th to keep the margin at two strokes. Starrs and Leachman were paired with John Stollenwerck and Malcolm Holland, but Holland didn’t arrive at the course until the group was making the turn to the back nine. He had been attending his daughter’s high school graduation activities. “When Malcolm showed up it was like the whole group relaxed and we just started making the putts,” Leachman said.

It was the first TGA State Four-Ball championship for the duo that are both members at Brook Hollow Golf Club in Dallas, and play quite a bit of golf together. It was their second big tournament win in as many seasons--they also won the Temple Cup at Crown Colony in Lufkin last August.

They finished 17-under with a 199 total, two shots ahead of defending champions Chris James of Austin and Kent Wiese of Houston, 2003 & 2004 champions Terrence Miskell of New Braunfels and Titus Harris of Houston, and the team of Mark McEntire of Hutto and Deron Zinnecker of Austin who shot the low round of the tournament with an eight under par 64. Gleneagles members Greg Smith and Mike Chisum of Plano, who were tied for the lead going into the final round, finished alone in fifth three shots back.

Among other past champions, Chris Goodspeed and Bill Steen (1996, 1997, 2002) finished tied for 12th at 9-under 207, while Alan Hill and Jeff Harvey (2001) were tied for 28th at 5-under 211.

It was quite a battle over the final nine holes with several different teams in the lead at different points. Wiese and James had started the day two shots off the lead, and when James made eagle on the par five 12th hole, then followed with birdie on #13, the defending champs were in the lead. Behind them Starrs and Leachman were making their five birdie in a row run to take over the top spot. Smith and Chisum made birdie on #15 to get within one, but struggled over the final three holes, including a bogey at the last to fall back to fifth. McEntire and Zinnecker were several groups ahead and had already posted a 201 total (-15) while the other teams were battling it out over the final holes. In the end Starrs and Leachman complemented each other’s play very well, and finished on top by two shots.

Click here for complete final results of the 2006 TGA State Four-Ball Championship.

ABOUT THE Texas Four-Ball

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers age 25 or older as of the first round of tournament play, with a certified USGA Handicap Index of 8.4 or less. Please reference “TGA State Championship Eligibility” at www.txga.org for additional eligibility details.

Format: Scheduled for 54 holes of Four–Ball Stroke Play.

The field is limited to 80 teams, as outlined below:
Championship: 25 & Over (48 teams)
Senior: 55 & Over (20 teams)
Super Senior: 65 & Over (12 teams)

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube