Geyer defends at Northern California Stroke Play
- NCGA photo
- NCGA photo

SEASIDE, California (July 14, 2013) – Ben Geyer did something Sunday that nobody has done in the modern era of the NCGA Amateur Stroke Play Championship. The 21-year-old became the first ever defending champion, winning the 10th annual event by nine strokes with a 54-hole total of 205, 11-under-par at Bayonet GC.

Geyer, who held a three-shot lead going into Sunday’s final round after rounds of 70 and 67, fired a 68 on Sunday for a third straight day of under-par golf, routing the rest of the field. Starting off his round with a little shakiness by making bogeys on Nos. 4 and 5, the 2012 NCGA Player of the Year looked like he might be in a trouble early and he knew it.

“I felt like I had a really bad mindset starting out,” said Geyer, who had a couple of birdie chances in the first couple holes that he didn’t convert.

“Once I didn’t make those couple birdies early, I started thinking negatively that I might not make any putts today.”

Ben Geyer became the first player to win back-to-back Stroke Play titles in 54 years.However, the Arbuckle native quickly got things together going five-under on four-hole stretch. Beginning on the eighth hole, Geyer made a birdie on the par-5 and then added another on the ninth to go out with a 36. Then on the par-5 10th he made an eagle-3 and then followed that up with a birdie on the 11th. From there on out, Geyer cruised to the finish-line making six pars and adding another birdie on the 16th to come in with a 32.

“I was playing not to lose and then all of a sudden I woke up out there,” he said.

The NCGA Amateur Stroke Play Championship has actually had back-to-back champions in its history before going dormant in 1966. The last back-to-back champion was over 50 years ago when Verne Callison claimed back-to-back titles in 1958-59, with the two others being Talbert Smith in 56-57, and recently inducted World Golf Hall of Famer Ken Venturi in 51-52.

“Those are some pretty good names to be in the company of,” said Geyer. “It feels awesome.”

As far as trying to become the first player ever to win three consecutive titles in the championship, it looks to not be in the cards for Geyer. The recently graduated business major at St. Mary’s College plans to turn professional next month after hopefully participating in the U.S. Amateur. With that likelihood this will have been the Geyer’s final NCGA event and he’s glad to have been associated with the NCGA over the last few years.

2013 NCGA Amateur Stroke Play Championship: Ben Geyer (champion) Robby Salomon (runner-up) and Matt Williams (third place).“I’m going to miss playing amateur golf,” he said. “Meeting the NCGA [volunteers and staff] they are all really nice people and very generous with their time.”

Earning second and third place medals by finishing in a tie for second place at 214, two-under-par were Robby Salomon and Matt Williams. Both players played in the penultimate group on Sunday, beginning the final round with a 143 total, and each fired a one-under-par 71 on Sunday. Salomon earned the second place medal via a scorecard playoff, thanks to a great back-nine. After opening with a 37 on the front nine, Salomon made two birdies and no bogeys for a 34 over his final nine. Williams, who took home the third place medal, feasted on pars making 15 on Sunday to go along with two birdies and one bogey, firing a 36 on the front and 35 on the back.

Mike Stieler and Johnny Partridge were the only other two golfers to come in with a 54-hole total that was under-par as both players tied for fourth at 215, one-under-par. To round out the top 10, there were five players tied for sixth at 216, even-par: Sebastian Crampton, Cody Robinson, Kenny Maroney, Jason Anthony and Amay Poria.

Results For Northern California Amateur Stroke Play Championship
1CABen GeyerArbuckle, CA35070-67-68--205
T2CARobert SalomonPortola Valley, CA23074-69-71--214
T2CAMatt WilliamsSan Jose, CA23073-70-71--214
T4CAMike StielerCoarsegold, CA14071-74-70--215
T4CAJohnny PartridgeCA14071-74-70--215

View full results for Northern California Amateur Stroke Play Championship


First played in 1944, the NCGA Stroke Play Championship has a special history, as the tournament has been won by the likes of Ken Venturi and Johnny Miller. The sterling silver perpetual trophy was donated by the San Francisco Examiner in 1944.

Championship play is 54 holes of stroke play (18 holes per day). After 36 holes the field will be cut to 40 players and ties. Pre-qualifying required for non- exempt players. Open to players with handicaps of 5.4 or lower.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube