San Jose State sweeps at WAC
02 May 2012
-- photo WAC Sports
-- photo WAC Sports

HENDERSON, Nev. (May 2, 2012) -- San Jose State won its first-ever WAC title at the Club Glove WAC Men's Golf Championship at Rio Secco Golf Club in Henderson, Nev. The Spartans carded three-round total of 876 to win by six strokes over New Mexico State.

San Jose State senior Jay Myers won the individual title after scoring a birdie on the first sudden death playoff hole to defeat New Mexico State's Justin Shin. Myers shot a 1-under par 71 in the final round to card a 5-under 211 for the three rounds. Idaho's Sean McMullen was third at even par (216). In the rest of the team competition, New Mexico State was second (882) and Fresno State was third (886). Idaho finished fourth at 892, Louisiana Tech was fifth at 902, Nevada placed sixth (909), Hawai‘i seventh (911) and Utah State finished eighth at 919.

Also announced today were the all-WAC teams and top awards. San Jose State's Myers was voted the WAC's Player of the Year by the eight head coaches. Freshman of the Year honors went to Idaho's Sean McMullen and Coach of the Year honors went to John Kennaday of San Jose State.

2011-12 Awards

First Team All-WAC
Justin Shin, Jr., New Mexico State
Kevin Lucas, Sr., Nevada
Jay Myers, Sr., San Jose State
Jarred Bossio, Sr., Idaho
T. J. Kua, Sr., Hawai‘i

Second Team All-WAC
Zachery Fullerton, Sr., New Mexico State
Matt Hovan, Sr., San Jose State
Gaston De La Torre, Sr., New Mexico State
Cory Oride, Jr., Hawai‘i
Cody Blankenship, Sr., Louisiana Tech

Player of the Year: Jay Myers, Sr., San Jose State
Freshman of the Year: Sean McMullen, Idaho
Coach of the Year: John Kennaday, San Jose State

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube