Nebraska Match Play: Round of 32 rolls on
27 Jun 2012
see also: Nebraska Match Play Championship, Champions Run

BELLEVUE, Neb. (June 27, 2012) -- The top four seeds advanced in the opening round of the 45th Nebraska Match Play Championship at Platteview Country Club. Defending champion Kevin Stanek topped Tommy Hamilton of Omaha 2 and 1 in the day's opening match. The pair of golfers are cousins. 2011 runner-up, Wesley Bernt of Kearney defeated Preston Walford of Tekamah 2 and 1. Stanek and Bernt were awarded the 1 and 2 seeds respectively based on last year's performance.

Qualifying medalist and 3 seed, Mitchell Ryan of Omaha (pictured), defeated Mark Wright, also of Omaha 5 and 4. The 4th seeded Carson Schaake (Omaha) defeated 2008 Amateur champion, Jayson Brueggemann of Lincoln 1 up. Hamilton, Walford, Wright and Brueggemann advanced to match play following a play-off along with Jordan Arernsdorf of North Platte. All five were eliminated in first round action.

ABOUT THE Nebraska Match Play

Must be a resident or student of the state of Nebraska. Open to NGA members only. Limited to low 120 indexes. Format will be 36-holes of stroke play to determine a round of 32 match play.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube