Trans-Miss Four-Ball: Bendetti, Swanson win
 -- Texas Golf Association Photo
-- Texas Golf Association Photo

AUSTIN, Texas (September 11, 2013) – Joe Bendetti and Josh Swanson matched the low round of the tournament in the Championship flight with a final round 7-under par 64 to win the 33rd Trans-Mississippi Four-Ball Championship. The Austin native’s 15-under-par 198 total was three shots clear of the field.

The Trans-Miss Four-Ball Championship is one of the premier four-ball stroke play events in the country. The 67 team field was divided into three flights: Championship (25 years of age and older), Senior (55 and older) and Super Senior (65 and older). The Championship flight played the par-71 Spanish Oaks GC from 6,954 yards, the Senior flight from 6,556 yards and the Super Senior flight from 6,378 yards.

Ed Sanchez of San Antonio and Trevor Hyde of Kerrville entered the final round with a share of the lead but could not hold on. They tied for second place with co-second round leaders Ben Blundell and Jordan Cook of Oklahoma City at 12-under-par 201.

Hunter Nelson and Jimmy Burke of Houston edged Mike Rice and Jerry Hudgins, also of Houston, in the Senior flight. Nelson and Burke fired a bogey-free round of 6-under-par 65 to win by one shot. A third Houston team, Jim Crane and Mike Burke, tied for third place with John Pigg and Eddie Lyons at 8-under-par 205.

In the Super Senior flight, Hamilton and Rick Rogers of Corpus Christi overcame an injury to win by two shots. They began the day four shots behind fellow competitors Jim Martin and Gary Seaman but they were able to make up that deficit with four front nine birdies. Martin and Seaman wound up in a tie for second with defending champions Pat Hare and Denny Alexander of Fort Worth.

In addition to being a top-flight championship, the annual Four-Ball is also a fundraiser for the Trans-Miss Turf Scholarship Fund. Since 1963, the Trans-Mississippi Golf Association has assisted young men and women pursue a career in turf management. Each more than $50,000 in scholarships is awarded to individuals from schools like Penn State, Michigan State and LSU.

Next year’s Four-Ball Championship is scheduled for The Club at Las Campanas in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Four-Ball

One of three annual championships hosted each year by the historic Trans-Mississippi Golf Association. Each player must be a member of a Trans-Mississippi member club, but not necessarily the same club. Players who do not belong to a Trans-Miss member club can speak to their club's manager or board of directors to encourage them to join (dues are very reasonable and support the Trans-Miss Turf Scholarship Fund). Alternatively, entrants may make a contribution in lieu of club membership to the Turf Scholarship Fund.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube